Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th May 2006, 15:31
Jorem Jorem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Visiting the site with the ip adress

I have a problem with reaching my website with the ip adres.

On my old system (Mandrake) I was able to reach a website by typing my second ip adres followed by /~user/ . Now with my new installation on Debian I got everything to works except for this reaching the website by ip/~user/ .

Do you know where I have to change the config to be able to reach the website this way?

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th May 2006, 16:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

This doesn't work. You must always use the domain because ISPConfig configures name-based vhosts; otherwise you'll see the shared IP page.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th May 2006, 16:53
Jorem Jorem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

This was the case for my primary ip adres.

But when I used my secondary ip adres it worked great on Mandrake/Mandriva.

So I don't want to do this on my primary ip, but only on my secondary ip adres. When I type my secondary ip in the browser I get the apache dummy page now, just like on Mandriva. But when I type /~user/ behind the sec. ip it doesn't work.

I hope you understand me.

For example:
http://www.domain.com/
http://00.00.00.10/ (primary ip, you see www.domain.com)

But also:
http://00.00.00.11/~domain/ (secondary ip, domain is username in this case. you also see www.domain.com)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th May 2006, 17:41
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,467
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,253 Times in 4,119 Posts
Default

ISPConfig uses only namebased hosts as falko posted, so you will have to use the domain and not the IP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th May 2006, 22:06
Jorem Jorem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

I found out how it works.

By changing the apache module userdir you are able to visit the website with the second ip address followed by /~username/

By changing the module from Userdir public_html to web , and path to dir from /home/www/* to /home/www/*/web

Hope that someone else with this problem can do something with this answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site Skeletons rbartz Feature Requests 11 29th November 2008 16:07
Shared IP error when adding new site amoswright Installation/Configuration 15 15th June 2006 15:04
how i can open a web site hadisaadeh Installation/Configuration 10 20th January 2006 15:46
Removed site, but it is still there mromer General 2 21st December 2005 17:46
can't delete a site KenMcGinnis Installation/Configuration 2 14th August 2005 15:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.