Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th December 2009, 15:57
Badbuntu Badbuntu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Network config & nameserver options

I've just installed a fresh version of ispconfig3 on karmic following the howto perfect guide

Everythings works well but I'm not sure about the settings on the system page under server settings.

There is a check box for 'network configuration'. What does this option specify?should it be checked or left?

On the same page lower down there is an option to include name server ip s. By default there are filled in with 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2. This doesn't correspond to my name server. I intend to use the schlundetech howto using my own server as the primary and schlundtech as the back up. Should I put in here my public ip address followed by schlund's ip address?

Any help appreciated as I intend to write a simple howto to follow on from the installation one for a basic setup once I have this working.


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th December 2009, 19:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,409
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Quote:
There is a check box for 'network configuration'. What does this option specify?should it be checked or left?
It is recommended to not enable it. Thats the default, you dont have to change the settings there.

You can set the nameserver IP addresses in the fields below, you can use any reachable dns servers but not your local IP as mydns is not a resolver.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th February 2010, 21:59
fathertime fathertime is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face I did it all of this.

Where can I find the config / (files) to change these back to the defaults?

I need to disable the Networking config checkbox and change the settings back. But I cannot log into the IspConfig interface nor access the server via http, ftp, ssh. I only have direct access.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th February 2010, 22:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,409
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
 
Default

please do not double post:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43382
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to connect to Mysql mbascombe Installation/Configuration 12 10th January 2010 22:46
Spamsnake - Problem with spamassassin, FuzzyOcr and MySQL debuguser HOWTO-Related Questions 6 16th September 2008 18:37
add web site serr57 Installation/Configuration 18 13th April 2008 11:40
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 19th July 2007 23:46
spamassasin/clamAV not working Daisy Installation/Configuration 32 15th February 2007 00:09


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.