#1  
Old 1st February 2010, 20:11
nima0102 nima0102 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Mysql Backup

Hi
I read some documents on HowtoForge site about mysql backup. recently I read 2 documents, 1 and 2 . In these documents was mentioned to consistent backup,one solution is "read lock and flush cache" and another is "replicated mysql ". Does not "mysqldump" built-in use "read lock and flush cache" and I have to apply manually ??
That means, I can use mysqldump only mysql is stop, is it true?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st February 2010, 21:18
tecstream tecstream is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default mysql backup with mysqldump

Hi Nima0102,

I have used mysqldump to backup there is a site that describes its use better than I can answer quickly here.

http://www.devarticles.com/c/a/MySQL...ith-MySQLDump/

mysqldump locks and unlocks

I have moved to using webmin to setup automated backups every night on most of my dev boxes it works and is easily setup.

Tecstream
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st February 2010, 21:41
nima0102 nima0102 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tecstream View Post
Hi Nima0102,

I have used mysqldump to backup there is a site that describes its use better than I can answer quickly here.

http://www.devarticles.com/c/a/MySQL...ith-MySQLDump/

mysqldump locks and unlocks

I have moved to using webmin to setup automated backups every night on most of my dev boxes it works and is easily setup.

Tecstream
Thanks for your reply
I already have read this article.
On this article for consistent backup was mentioned to "replication", the slave mysql server,first stop and then mysqldump is run,that means mysqldump can not create consistent backup.
If I am wrong please give about that.

Thanks for more help or guidance
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st February 2010, 21:58
tecstream tecstream is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default mysql consistent backup

Yes I believe the that is true that the stop is used on a slave sql server in a master slave setup. In this type of setup it is ok to stop the slave take your backup or snapshot as it does not effect the master mysql server.

There is an article on this forum addressing this:

http://www.howtoforge.com/back_up_my..._interruptions

As well there is an article here on how to set up a Master/Slave mysql:

http://www.howtoforge.com/mysql_database_replication

There are methods that can be used to backup mysql consistently but they involve using either LVM file system or a ZFS file system in any case those methods freeze the file system for 1 to 4 seconds take a snapshot then unfreeze. This interruption on smaller systems is not noticable but on very large heavy transactional systems this could cause a problem hence the use of master/slave setups.

Hope this helps

Tecstream
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Online Backup : What do you use and how do you setup it ? XZed Technical 5 4th January 2010 18:02
ISPConfig3 Mail Warn Errors reason8 General 3 25th November 2009 13:58
Management/system config/settings & /server/settings not working!! dactor Installation/Configuration 9 6th February 2008 09:11
Messed up ISPConfig-2.2.8 Upgrade Morons Installation/Configuration 4 29th November 2006 12:17
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 16:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.