Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 1st February 2010, 21:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,461
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

The answers above are about dns not mail! so dont mix everything up, instead solve one error after another. Regarding your email problem, look at the mail log and post the exact error message from there.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 2nd February 2010, 00:58
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs up my dns works

first create dns record using the wizard for your domain in ispconfig3.Less confusing for the first time)
Check the final records so see what is that you have.
Make sure that the mail.your-domain points to your mail server.That is if your mail server uses different name change the "mail" to that name.Pay attention how the dns recors use dot "." on the end of each domain







You have to register your new NS server with your isp.Generally thay have config for that at the domain management panel.If not you may have to contact them to add ns1.yourdaomai and the public ip of your domain.
Then go to your isp and replace there dns record for your domain with your ns1.yourdomain.com.
I can not type any more some stuopid add is in my way and it wont close.

It will take some time (up to 48 hrs) to take effect.
Then changes on your dns server will be almost instant.

Last edited by u4david; 2nd February 2010 at 01:02.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2nd February 2010, 02:59
rutame rutame is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canary Islands, Spain, Europe, Planet Earth
Posts: 161
Thanks: 39
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by u4david View Post
first create dns record using the wizard for your domain in ispconfig3.Less confusing for the first time)
Check the final records so see what is that you have.
Make sure that the mail.your-domain points to your mail server.That is if your mail server uses different name change the "mail" to that name.Pay attention how the dns recors use dot "." on the end of each domain







You have to register your new NS server with your isp.Generally thay have config for that at the domain management panel.If not you may have to contact them to add ns1.yourdaomai and the public ip of your domain.
Then go to your isp and replace there dns record for your domain with your ns1.yourdomain.com.
I can not type any more some stuopid add is in my way and it wont close.

It will take some time (up to 48 hrs) to take effect.
Then changes on your dns server will be almost instant.
Well, to see if i understood.

1º_ I have the DNS with my ISP

grafycomp.com. IN A 94.23.87.214
grafycomp.com. MX 94.23.87.214
mail.grafycomp.com. IN A 94.23.87.214
ns1.grafycomp.com. NS 94.23.87.214

2º_ In the Ispconfig the my server put the same entries?

It is an peux redundant, arent you? but if you say it... Anyway i beleave that i had so at IspConfig 2.2 (I love IspConfig 2

Teachme if i mistake, merci.
Thank you very much chavallier
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2nd February 2010, 18:07
lucani lucani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 81
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Here is my zone
Quote:
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA dns14.ovh.net. tech.ovh.net. (2009112905 86400 3600 3600000 86400)
IN NS ns14.ovh.net.
IN NS dns14.ovh.net.
IN MX 1 mail.mydomain.com.
IN A m.y.i.p
ftp IN A m.y.i.p
mail IN A m.y.i.p
www IN A m.y.i.p
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd February 2010, 18:31
ivomendonca ivomendonca is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Thanks: 10
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
Default Dns Servers and Ispconfig.

A dns is just a translation from an Ip to a Name.

Normaly i buy my domains (Godaddy or others) and create a nameserver on godday (ns1.name.com) with my ispconfig IP, everysing else is done on ispconfig panel, with one click in -> DNS TEMPLATE WIZARD.

One Dns server only, will work, no need to have 2 in the same location.

Reading how dns and services work from scratch will help you doing other advanced configuration.
But allways start from the simple form, 1 nameserver(remote) , 1 mydns (local) and one click to dns wizard in ispconfig.

Hope to help, By.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2nd February 2010, 18:56
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ok then

now go to your isp and register your ns1...... using your public ip.

Sometimes they call it custom NS or extra NS or special NS.

Im. guesing your dns1....... is for you local resolution
and that the domain in the ns servers is the one you own and is pointing to server you run the Ispconfig3 on.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2nd February 2010, 18:59
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default loacl name resolution.

How do i set that LOCAL NS up on local network?
Talking about Local network (LAN) DNS server?

just add dns1.mydomain and all records are a records with names and local ip's in the zone?

Ond where and what do I change that o local clients?
Or do i mistake the local name server resolution with somethink and it wont work ?

Hoping to get away with /etc/hosts by using local DNS.

Last edited by u4david; 2nd February 2010 at 20:50.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2nd February 2010, 20:03
ivomendonca ivomendonca is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
Thanks: 10
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
Smile dns confusion!

On godday or Other :
add nameserver ns1.grafycomp.com. with your ipsconfig public IP (94.23.87.214)

The rest mail, etc.. is in DNS TEMPLATE ispconfig. just use the wizard is all that you need.

If the registrar need a second server just add ns2.grafycomp.com with the same IP and that will do the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 5th February 2010, 23:43
rutame rutame is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canary Islands, Spain, Europe, Planet Earth
Posts: 161
Thanks: 39
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivomendonca View Post
On godday or Other :
add nameserver ns1.grafycomp.com. with your ipsconfig public IP (94.23.87.214)

The rest mail, etc.. is in DNS TEMPLATE ispconfig. just use the wizard is all that you need.

If the registrar need a second server just add ns2.grafycomp.com with the same IP and that will do the trick.
Thaks to everybody for helpme.

But i need make a little aclaration: I have my personal server working fine over ADSL line. I know what is a DNS too, but my troubles begin when i rent a virtual server, i have in that virtual server some domains that i had registered with an ISP ( i registered only the parking althoug this ISP has DNS service i can add records A, MX, CNAME, etc)
I have a DNS record A pointed to the public IP of my virtual server and have too and MX record.
But I have problems with the smtp server because use thunderbird (or any mail client) resolv well but the smtp server send a bad message (error 10060).
Another thing if you put how smtp server the same name that the http server but with port 25 use to works. Per example: smtp server: www.grafycomp.com - port: 25, the name is not important, only it is important that the name resolv IP and the port.

About my /var/log/mail.log is not clear, but the information does not says me nothing for help.

Thank you to everyone
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 6th February 2010, 03:22
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Lightbulb the bottom line

The bottom line is that you own domains.
regardless of the status ,rent,or not you have them and you can change where the traffic needs to go to resolve any dns requests.

So register you ns1.......+ public ip of the server with your ISP.
than
Make sure that port are forwarded to use DNS,mail basically all the ports that are open in ISPconfig firewall you open in your gateway/router ond asociate them with local ip of your server .

Then change the DNS primary server to that NS1..... under each domain you own @ ISP c panel.

Then all the A,MX record will b managed by your Ispconfig3 DNS configuration.

The traffic fallows

I go to internet and reguest to go to your website.

website.com
It will go to com and there is record that website. is registered with such ISP>
ISP There will be record that Website.com have its own dns server and it will look up the IP(this is why you have to register your dsn with your IS first)> IP will get to your public modem and then to router on your network>router will forward this traffic to the server you have open the port To ,that need to be your ISPCONFIG3 server.
Your ISPconfig3server will look in the domain and finds website.com is there.It will pull website.com mx,a,ns record and forward it to them and the application will listen and reply.

That is how it works in nut shell.

Not sure how it work if you use more than one dns per domain.I'm sure they have to exchange dns records information to be able to function independent as redundant.An that is really the only reason to have more than one DNS server.Just in case the first one fails there is second one to take care of the redirection.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.