Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th April 2011, 18:09
pierrot10 pierrot10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default [GlusterFS] How many HD space take the syncro

Good afternoon to all.
I red the IspConfig3 Manual and at the page 24 it ask me to create 3 volder
Quote:
Create the data directories for the GlusterFS volumes:
and at the page 47 it ask me to create 3 Volumes
Quote:
Now we create the three client volume files that we need to mount the GlusterFS filesystems
I do not really understand how it will work !
Someone can explian how work the volume?

While syncronizinf the data from the Master to the Slave, the dat will be syncronized (of course), but some sync data will be stored into the 3 created folders (temporyrely or not)?
Quote:
mkdir /data/
mkdir /data/export-mysql
mkdir /data/export-mysql-ns
mkdir /data/export-vmail
mkdir /data/export-vmail-ns
mkdir /data/export-www
mkdir /data/export-www-ns
The the HD space wll increase?

Someone a explain the notion of Volume for GlusterFS?

Many thank for all
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th April 2011, 05:53
Norman Norman is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I recommend you read up on the term "volume" in terms of data and storage.
This is a general well known term.

It does not refer to the size of an object, it's simply a term which describe the object itself. For example as a logical mount point where data areas are mounted.

In this case.
The "volumes" are directories which are used as the mount points for the glusterfs filesystems. Precisely as the guide says.
__________________
http://www.xh.se
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th April 2011, 09:12
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,269 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

Quote:
The the HD space wll increase?
The data will be stored into these directories that you created. But it is the same data, so it will have the same size and not increase.

Basically you can see this glusterfs setup as a Raid 1 over a TCP network.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th April 2011, 13:34
pierrot10 pierrot10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ok thank for your explication.
The I do not need to forsee HD space for GlusterFS replication.
If I want to have 2T for web site, mail and db, the Gluster processus will not take space of the 2T.

thank for your explication
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck in increasing the size of root partition by taking space from XEN LVM aligator007 Installation/Configuration 3 25th November 2010 13:08
Ispconfig 2.2.32 - "used" space more than "storage" space Teddy_2009 General 2 20th April 2009 07:52
ISPConfig Installation error linuxuser1 Installation/Configuration 4 26th February 2008 06:38
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! qvindesland Installation/Configuration 22 21st May 2007 16:05
Unlimited disk space reseller Davide General 4 27th July 2006 13:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.