Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th May 2006, 01:01
rayman rayman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile newbie setting up web server needs help

hi there I'm trying to set up a web server I've read the how to set up web server in fedora5 but i have 1 question ..
if I use this how to as is will it connect to my modem through the usb port and if not what modifications do i need to make to this how to....


thanks in advance ...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th May 2006, 17:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Do you have a router? I highly recommand to use a router and attach the modem to the router. Then you can plug your local machines into the router, and they will all have internet access.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th May 2006, 20:55
rayman rayman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile newbie stuck in linux box

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Do you have a router? I highly recommand to use a router and attach the modem to the router. Then you can plug your local machines into the router, and they will all have internet access.

thats what i was thinking but does this how to setup for that kind of confingeration or will i need drivers etc to access through the usb...?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th May 2006, 17:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Does your modem only have a USB port?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th May 2006, 13:49
rayman rayman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default my router

my router/modem is all in one with wireless then to a hub i was thinking of use the usb for the sever as i would like to keep it seperate from the private network without haveing to worry about security issues as the network is behind a hardware firewall
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st May 2006, 22:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

What about my previous question?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 13:19
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 11:50
Mail not working Roadracer Installation/Configuration 16 31st December 2005 00:40
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 11:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.