Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Forum Suggestions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th January 2010, 04:58
husskii husskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thumbs up Can I suggest a SOLVED option

Hi I was thinking maybe it would be nice to have the option to mark your own thread as solved, after your problem has been resolved. the good thing about having the SOLVED option is that later when someone else stumbles across the same error, and they do a search it would make it easier for them to choose which thread they want to read, also prevents someone from following a thread without reading to the end of it first, only to realize the problem wasn't solved and maybe end up digging them selves in a bigger whole lol..
I know I've been guilty of that exact reason a few times...

They have that option in the ubuntu forum, which I'm sure you already know, but I think it would work well here too...


thanks
Husskii
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th January 2010, 10:40
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

i like it .. though that means or till / falko should change it, or the thread starter ..

Or they should create a button in which gives ppl the possibility to set the title to SOLVED
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th January 2010, 04:40
husskii husskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

sounds good
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th January 2010, 05:49
oilyflutesalad oilyflutesalad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Send a message via MSN to oilyflutesalad
Default

Mark Threads As 'Solved' vBulletin Plugin

Not sure if it works with the version being run on HowToForge as it only says it works on 3.6, but there's always the possibility so it's well worth looking at
__________________
How to add a Domain ID user-prefix in ISPConfig 3 (useful for allowing a "default" FTP user for every domain - otherwise limited to one per client)

Unofficial ISPConfig IRC: #ISPConfig on irc.quakenet.org
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oilyflutesalad For This Useful Post:
husskii (19th January 2010)
  #5  
Old 19th January 2010, 16:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

I will consider this, but the problems with such plugins is that the more plugins we use, the harder it is to update vBulletin (because of template changes, etc.).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th January 2010, 08:37
jon jon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to jon
Default

What if the original poster took it upon themselves to just change the subject, adding [SOLVED]? Is that possible?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th January 2010, 08:42
oilyflutesalad oilyflutesalad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 48
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Send a message via MSN to oilyflutesalad
Default

Yes, if they click edit on the original post then use the full editor they have the option of changing the thread title. I just don't think people realise that and would rather a button that does it for them. While a button may seem pointless, it would avoid different formats (for example someone might put [s0lv3D]... unlikely but possible) users are far more likely to use a feature if it's right under their nose.
__________________
How to add a Domain ID user-prefix in ISPConfig 3 (useful for allowing a "default" FTP user for every domain - otherwise limited to one per client)

Unofficial ISPConfig IRC: #ISPConfig on irc.quakenet.org
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th January 2010, 14:02
husskii husskii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

^^^ well said
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th January 2010, 19:29
jon jon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to jon
 
Default

Yes a very good point. I agree with Falko though, the more modules you have the more of a pain it is to upgrade.

I suppose we'll have to leave it in the hands of the powers that be
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
solved thread option

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not working: Installing Beryl on Feisty Fawn w/ATI Radeon Card thepossiblehuman HOWTO-Related Questions 18 1st October 2007 17:37
So close to getting 3D on my ATI graphics card, please help me finish thirtythree HOWTO-Related Questions 6 27th September 2007 23:04
Beyrl and Ubuntu 7.04 Toriacht Desktop Operation 17 23rd June 2007 22:40
Installing Beryl On An Ubuntu Feisty Fawn Desktop With An ATI Radeon Graphic Card skyshock21 HOWTO-Related Questions 15 17th May 2007 17:10
DRI support for X (KDE) shadowsa Installation/Configuration 2 10th December 2005 19:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.