Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th January 2010, 01:27
n0fx n0fx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Changing new IP address on server and now not loading

I currently have Debian 5.0 installed with ISPconfig 3. The server has a 2 NIC configuration, so that the local people in the office can access the webserver internally (with one network card) and people from the internet can access the website with the external IP configured NIC.

The physical configuration is that one nic is plugged into the local router and the other nic is plugged directly into one of the ports on the cable modem. The cable modem is not blocking any ports and runs as a direct gateway to anything that is connected to the device. I statically assigned the external IP to the nic on the webserver.

This old setup was working fine with our T1 connection but then I changed ISPs and had to change the IP addresses for the webserver (external one). I changed the settings in /etc/network/interfaces to the new IP set. I also changed the DNS settings to point to the new webserver IP address via network solutions. The name resolves to the new IP address but I can't connect to it. Under ISPconfig, I changed the IP address under server -> settings and under the ISPmanager, I changed the only site I have to the new external IP address.

The ISPconfig only hosts one website on it and DNS is not configured on it as well. I checked with nmap -sT command and port 80 is listening.

I'm lost on what's wrong with the configuration. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

I can't seem to be able to access the website on the internet. I've tried to even connect to it directly via IP but that doesn't even load. I should get the page where it says to connect to the webserver by hostname not IP but this page doesn't even load either! I can access the website internally by the Internal IP address, External WAN ip and by the internet domain name.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th January 2010, 10:27
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,623
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,992 Times in 3,909 Posts
Default

If you can access the site by the internal IP, then the website part is fine and you most likely have a problem with DNS. Please be aware that it takes up to 48 hours until the IP changes for a domain in dns after you changed it in the dns server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th January 2010, 05:47
n0fx n0fx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you can access the site by the internal IP, then the website part is fine and you most likely have a problem with DNS. Please be aware that it takes up to 48 hours until the IP changes for a domain in dns after you changed it in the dns server.
Thanks, for the tip. I found out what was wrong and it was a stupid mistake. I forgot the add the GATEWAY IP for the external IP address. I felt really stupid after finding that was the major piece that was missing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.