Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 1st September 2005, 00:30
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
From your Postfix logs it seems as if you're using Maildir. Are you using Courier-POP3or another POP3 daemon? You have to use on that's using Maildir, not mbox (if you search the forums, you'll find more about this).
Falko,
In going thourgh some of the fourms and double checking everything mentioned in there for the 3rd time...now it is working...I wonder if some of it was because i was using ISPConfig on a remote machine...one i rechecked everything on the physical server in ISPCONFIG email started working!!! I dunno but it works!!!

Now for FTP????

Neither Annonymous or Users can get all the way in...it will connect, login in user name but hang at the LIST command.
(FTP only works from within the local network using direct IP address of server.)
I have also tried passive with no luck.

Any other idea? everything i read on the forums is people cant get past user name that is not the problem again it hangs on the LIST
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 1st September 2005, 04:23
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

This may be able to help: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=281
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2nd September 2005, 05:13
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
I have read through that thread multiple times and done that and still, inside my network or out it will login but hang at the LIST command. Inside the network it works great with the direct IP address instead of the domain name.

Today i tried it at a customers location and below is a copy of the log in the FTP client showing where it stops at the LIST command:

--------------------------
SmartFTP v1.5.990.2
Resolving host name "cryptchat.com"
Connecting to 24.117.228.198 Port: 21
Connected to cryptchat.com.
220 FTP Server ready.
USER web1_user
331 Password required for web1_shane.
PASS (hidden)
230 User web1_user logged in.
SYST
215 UNIX Type: L8
FEAT
211-Features:
MDTM
REST STREAM
SIZE
211 End
PWD
257 "/" is current directory.
TYPE I
200 Type set to I
PASV
An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine.
Server closed connection
---------------------------------

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2nd September 2005, 20:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I guess it's an issue with your router's firewall. Maybe it can't cope with FTP (FTP is a firewall nightmare... ). You might try to turn your router's firewall off for a minute and test if you can connect. Then you'll know if your router's firewall causes the problem or not...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd September 2005, 23:08
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I guess it's an issue with your router's firewall. Maybe it can't cope with FTP (FTP is a firewall nightmare... ). You might try to turn your router's firewall off for a minute and test if you can connect. Then you'll know if your router's firewall causes the problem or not...
Falko,

Tried that same problem still. In my routers firewall (linksys) i have my ftp port forward back to my windows ftp server and all is well but when pointed to the linux box or bypassing firewall still have issue?

A)
while thinking about this if you look at one of my other ftp client logs it shows the IP or the physical ftp server (192.168.1.205) could that be why it is stopping? that ip shows up right at the list command? shouldn't that IP be my external resolved static IP (24.117.228.198) i get from my cable company?

--------[logs]-------------------
Getting listing ""...
STATUS:> Resolving host name ftp.cryptchat.com...
STATUS:> Host name ftp.cryptchat.com resolved: ip = 24.117.228.198.
STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server ftp.cryptchat.com:21 (ip = 24.117.228.198)...
STATUS:> Socket connected. Waiting for welcome message...
220 FTP Server ready.
STATUS:> Connected. Authenticating...
COMMAND:> USER web4_ol
331 Password required for web4_ol.
COMMAND:> PASS *****
230 User web4_ol logged in.
STATUS:> Login successful.
COMMAND:> PWD
257 "/" is current directory.
STATUS:> Home directory: /
COMMAND:> FEAT
211-Features:
MDTM
REST STREAM
SIZE
211 End
STATUS:> This site supports features.
STATUS:> This site supports SIZE.
STATUS:> This site can resume broken downloads.
COMMAND:> REST 0
350 Restarting at 0. Send STORE or RETRIEVE to initiate transfer
COMMAND:> PASV
227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,1,205,16,88).
COMMAND:> LIST
STATUS:> Connecting FTP data socket 192.168.1.205:4184...
ERROR:> Timeout (60000 ms) occurred on receiving server response.
ERROR:> PASV failed, trying PORT.
--------------------------------------------------------

B)
Also i noticed this WARNING message when restarting proftpd is there any concern here?
=====
Shutting down ProFTPD Server: done
Starting ProFTPD Server: - warning: "ProFTPD" address/port (192.168.1.205:21) already in use by "ProFTPD Default Installation"
done
=====


C)
I came across this thread on the proftpd site, it is the same problem im having but for a totally differant linux build. they talk about tunring off NSCD helping it, i did try to stop the NSCD service but it wont shut off, when i etll the system to it says its off but if i "chkconfig --list" the list show it still running. Anyways they also talk about a differant linux build so don't want to get in too deep until i see what you think. the thread about this is:
http://bugs.proftpd.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2452

--thanks for helping, i'm desperate to resolve this so i can get my clients up thanks for any help!

Last edited by palkat; 3rd September 2005 at 06:45.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 3rd September 2005, 09:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,389 Times in 4,234 Posts
Default

a) In a NAT Enviromet your server knows only his "private" IP Address.

b) Please try this solution with socket bind tight:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...p?t=120&page=2
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 3rd September 2005, 13:19
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Just a quick shot in the dark. How about for a brief period, place the linux server in front of the router just to test if it can be accessed from outside.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 3rd September 2005, 17:28
palkat palkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
a) In a NAT Enviromet your server knows only his "private" IP Address.

b) Please try this solution with socket bind tight:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...p?t=120&page=2
Thanks Till,

I did the socketbindtight - no change

Following the url you gave above i read through and even used the recommended proftpd.conf file instead of the one i created following the "The Perfect Setup -Suse 9.3" instructions. Interesting thing...when i use the PROFTPD.CONF that was posted at http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...p?t=120&page=2 i get the following FTP error on my ftp clients:

----------------
STATUS:> Getting listing ""...
STATUS:> Connecting to FTP server 24.117.228.198:21 (ip = 24.117.228.198)...
ERROR:> The remote host actively refused the attempt to connect to it.
1) Verify that the destination server name or IP address is correct
2) Verify that the connection port number is correct (under Site Settings | Type tab).
3) The remote server may be temporarily or permanently inaccessible (try again later).
4) Verify that you have chosen the right protocol (SSH2, SSL, FTP, etc.) and have setup all required options for that protocol.
5) Verify that the destination IP address and port numbers are correct.
6) The remote server may be refusing multiple connections from the same client. Try using only one connection thread when connecting to this particular server (Site Settings | Options).
7) Try pinging the address.
8) If you are using a router, verify the router is up and running (check by pinging it and then ping an address outside of the router).
9) Do a traceroute to the destination to verify all routers along the connection path are operational.
10) Verify that your subnet mask is setup properly.
11) Verify that your local software or hardware firewall is not blocking outbound connections originating from CuteFTP.
12) Verify that your anti-virus software is not at fault (try disabling it).
------------------

I did note that the url above you gave me to follow the indavidual with the problem notes that his problems started after reinstalling ispconfig..that sticks with me because i too had to reinstall ispconfig to get HTTPS corrected a few days back and never tried ftp till after i reinstalled ispconfig and got HTTPS working.

So i am begining to wonder would just taking the linux box and starting completely from scratch with reinstalling Suse per above instructions and then ISPConfig help?

Thanks guys for continuing to help me with this...im lost but i think beging to understand..will feel good once i can ftp though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.