Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th January 2010, 11:46
kripkorn kripkorn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Centos 5.4 with ISPConfig3 new guy learn linux

I juz setup my server for local use using The Perfect Centos. Everthing was very smooth.
i can access my server using 127.0.0.1 or 192.168.1.2 or server1.example.com.
i can access my ispconfig3 admin using port 8080.

so my problem is i dont know to use the ISP config.

let say i want to make new hosting like testing.local, what the step by step i should take so that i can access it within my local intranet.

what i have done :

create user
create site
create DNS..

acess using testing.local--- fail.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th January 2010, 11:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,665
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,316 Times in 4,169 Posts
Default

The steps are all finre. But I guess you did not tell your workstation to use the dns server of your ispconfig server to resolve testing.local. Or you have to add a line for testing.local in the hosts file of your workstation pc.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th January 2010, 11:51
kripkorn kripkorn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i know if i add the testing.local. in host it will work...but if i use that method, what the point having myDNS? so i missing something here?

how to point my ISpconfig to use myDNS?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th January 2010, 12:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,665
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,316 Times in 4,169 Posts
Default

Quote:
how to point my ISpconfig to use myDNS?
Thats not a question of ISPConfig.

If you run a own dns server, you have to tell your workstation and not ispconfig to use mydns. Goi to your network settings on your workstation and configure it to use your ispconfig server as first dns server. Or use regular domain names like yourdomain.com that are known in the internet.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th January 2010, 18:10
panny200555 panny200555 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question help me too

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Thats not a question of ISPConfig.

If you run a own dns server, you have to tell your workstation and not ispconfig to use mydns. Goi to your network settings on your workstation and configure it to use your ispconfig server as first dns server. Or use regular domain names like yourdomain.com that are known in the internet.

First of all thanx for the great help that you all are providing.

I'm also new to linux and ispconfig 3 and i've the same doubts that has 'kripkorn'.
I think i'm mising something. At the moment I'm trying ispconfig at my local ip.

I'm really not understanding the DNS section(and also emails), how can check if ispconfig3's DNS section is working fine???
Would you please explain a little bit.

p.s: i'm not running my own dns server.
I've CentOs 5.4 Perfect Server+ Ispconfig 3.0.1.6

Thanx in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th January 2010, 20:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,665
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,316 Times in 4,169 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by panny200555 View Post
Would you please explain a little bit.

p.s: i'm not running my own dns server.
I've CentOs 5.4 Perfect Server+ Ispconfig 3.0.1.6.
If you dont run your own dns server, do not add or edit anything in the dns secition. This section is only if you run your own dns.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th January 2010, 21:52
panny200555 panny200555 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question yet confused....

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you dont run your own dns server, do not add or edit anything in the dns section. This section is only if you run your own dns.
Ok then why did the tutorial make me install MYDNS??? what is it's function?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th January 2010, 22:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,665
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,316 Times in 4,169 Posts
Default

What a funny question. It enables you to run a own dns server. But as you dont want to run a dns server and use the server of your provider instead, you dont have to use it...
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th January 2010, 11:26
panny200555 panny200555 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default now understanding a bit

Thanks Till,

Now i'm understanding the stuff... But Now I'm Learning the advantage of having my own dns server..

If you shed a little light on it... (also briefly)

Thanx for all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th January 2010, 01:15
panny200555 panny200555 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default an advise...

Thanx Till for your help.

I've a small question.. I've some domains registered with Godaddy and if i'm right it provides FREE dns management. As now I've setup my own CentOs perfect server for running my sites with their emails, can I use godaddy's dns service for this instead running my own Dns server.
Is it right(and easy)?? or i should run my own dns server??

As I've read lot of documentation about running own dns server, it's seems a little bit hard in terms of responsibility and reliability.

Am I right?? or I'm mising something??

Thanx in adavce..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsupported memory accesses after HowTo Installing Xen On An Ubuntu 8.04 petervanbussel HOWTO-Related Questions 10 20th December 2009 19:46
Centos 5.2 + ISPConfig 3 tutorial - Problem with email tanakskool Server Operation 1 3rd June 2009 16:22
Postfix Problems Rocky Installation/Configuration 22 14th September 2006 09:03
Problems installing NForce4 sound drivers Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 21 16th April 2006 17:30
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.