Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th December 2009, 00:02
The General The General is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: U.K
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 3.0.1.6 error_no_view_permission

Need some help and quick !!!!!! LOL

when i select a datadase i get the error "error_no_view_permission", please can you tell me why this has started to happen? I have had no changes to the server is this a bug?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th December 2009, 02:43
The General The General is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: U.K
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The General View Post
Need some help and quick !!!!!! LOL

when i select a datadase i get the error "error_no_view_permission", please can you tell me why this has started to happen? I have had no changes to the server is this a bug?
as a update i can't create databases as well ! as i get the same error if i delete the database it just stays in database window, effectively undeleted
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th December 2009, 11:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
please can you tell me why this has started to happen?
Tell us what you did before and then we might be able to tell you why that happened. E.g. you might have manually edited a system user or group in ispconfig or you deletec the client that owns the database.

To delete the database, login as admin and then delete the db.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th December 2009, 13:25
The General The General is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: U.K
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till

i have not removed, deleted, or amended anything. the only thing i have done is rebooted the server. is there a way i can recreate permissions?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th December 2009, 13:31
The General The General is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: U.K
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default This is strange !

this is very wierd! i have now got full access again.

I will report back to this thread if anything changes or becomes more obvious, or unless you can give me a idea what could change overnight that could recreate permissions?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th January 2010, 19:59
Dreamz Dreamz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default error_no_view_permission

Hi posters!

I was administering email addresses in ISPC3, deleted a couple of accounts and then I also received the 'error_no_view_permission' error when I tried to create a new account.

This is the same result when trying to do any mail-related administration: Add domain, mailbox, alias etc...

..when I try to add a new user, it simply edits the 'admin' user, thus I cannot add a new user.

Does anyone have any pointers to get me started? Perhaps I can wait for magic too? Lol...;-)

(3.0.1.6, ubuntu 8.10)

Recent activity (since last working) : PHPMyadmin administration, Joomla / Drupal installs on a site, nothing 'directly' connected to ISPC3.


Edit: Feeling this is most likely related to deleted email account(s) - as I can't delete any more... can removing an account - eg an account used as a admin / catch all cause this?

Last edited by Dreamz; 9th January 2010 at 20:03. Reason: More information
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th January 2010, 16:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
..when I try to add a new user, it simply edits the 'admin' user, thus I cannot add a new user.
Where did you add a new user? You are aware that you can not add new ispconfig users under system? Users added manually there will have no view permissions as they miss a client record. You always have to add a new client which creates a new system user automatically.

Quote:
can removing an account - eg an account used as a admin / catch all cause this?
No. There is no such thing as a dmin email account in ispconfoig 3.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th January 2010, 23:07
Dreamz Dreamz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Cannot add client

Thnaks so much for the reply till :-)

Unfortunately, now I cannot add a client - it has the same effect of editing the first client.

By admin mail, I was thinking of an email account of the FQDN, but I thinking that was the bad idea that might have caused the problem, lol (making a site for the FQDN, then an email address for the admin user of ISPConfig3 and deleting it in ISPConfig3, perhaps along with ISPConfig3's association with the administrator / group?).

I've decided to perform an uninstall and re-install of ISPConfig3 and I will post the outcome to confirm it was that (*imagines chips being stacked high in casino*) :-)

Note: Have gzip of /var/www, /var/vmail and MySQL db's (but will reconfigure accounts in ispconfig database from new version, of course!).

Sorry for wasting your time :-)

Regarding OP, perhaps this original error was related to the system user / ispconfig admin relationship then, which was restored by a change in the system / restart of a service?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th January 2010, 23:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Unfortunately, now I cannot add a client - it has the same effect of editing the first client.
Login as admin user and not as reseller.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th January 2010, 23:30
Dreamz Dreamz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Admin...

...I was logged in as admin.

So, I uninstalled ISPConfig3, reinstalled - still the same error, cannot create a new client:

error_no_view_permission

This is obviously a problem outside ISPConfig3...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ispconfig 3.0.1.6, suphp and joomla problem rootfive General 3 18th November 2009 20:42
Upgrading ISPConfig 3.0.1.1 to 3.0.1.6 binaryrogue Installation/Configuration 1 18th November 2009 09:48
ISPConfig 3.0.1.6 all server OFF in monitor Elber Installation/Configuration 6 29th October 2009 09:55
3.0.1.6 -> phpMyAdmin (fedora10 Solution) Ketama Installation/Configuration 3 24th October 2009 18:32
Updated to 3.0.1.6: Squirrelmail 403 Forbidden Access astewart General 7 23rd October 2009 22:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.