Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th May 2008, 11:55
timaaarrreee timaaarrreee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default My brand new ISPConfig Server!

Hi all!

I just have a few questions about ISPConfig setup

1. How do i access the files where the "Shared Ip" pages is when i Go sraight to my site. I want to put my hosting website there running on port 80 can the be managed in ispconfig somehow?

here is my domain: http://www.khost.co.nz

2.
How do i set up dns records so i have:

pop.khost.co.nz (E-mail Inboxes)
smtp.khost.co.nz (E-Mail sending service)

3.
How do i do about getting all my users to have their own website where they have a dns record so they have the domain (name).khost.co.nz

Finally getting my domain to properly go to my static IP address (Name servers...HUH?)

Thanks
Tim.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th May 2008, 07:31
timaaarrreee timaaarrreee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

also having trouble with ports
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th May 2008, 12:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
1. How do i access the files where the "Shared Ip" pages is when i Go sraight to my site. I want to put my hosting website there running on port 80 can the be managed in ispconfig somehow?
The folder is /var/www/sharedip/

2) Add a A-Record for pop and another A-Record for smtp pointing to the IP of your server.

3) Create a website for every user with:

hostname: name
domain: khost.co.nz

and enable the create dns checkbox.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
timaaarrreee (15th May 2008)
  #4  
Old 15th May 2008, 13:15
timaaarrreee timaaarrreee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a ton! Just an nother noob question how am i supposed to get my domain to point to my static ip or do i have to do something with name servers?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th May 2008, 19:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

You must create a DNS record for the domain. To find out which name server is responsible for your domain, run
Code:
dig ns yourdomain.com
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th May 2008, 08:32
timaaarrreee timaaarrreee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

to create e record for the domain do i go onto my "Manage my domain" place where i set the dns settings? Or is this ISPConfig?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th May 2008, 10:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

I guess you do not run your own nameservers, so you will have to add this record in the domain management system of your internet provider.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th May 2008, 12:06
timaaarrreee timaaarrreee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes! i am using my domain provider's name servers pointing to my ip on an A record but none of my subdomains work would this be because i need to have DNS port 53 forwarded and bind9 online?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th May 2008, 15:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timaaarrreee
yes! i am using my domain provider's name servers pointing to my ip on an A record but none of my subdomains work
In this case you must create DNS records for the subdomains on your registrar's name servers as well.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th May 2008, 04:43
timaaarrreee timaaarrreee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

well how do i create my own name servers that all i have to do is creat dns records ONLY on MY servers?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig after installation cannot reach www.xyz.de:81 Figth4Linux Installation/Configuration 23 6th March 2008 23:38
Problem with keeping Apache alive bobeq Server Operation 3 29th November 2007 17:11
ispconfig - server migration best way sygram Installation/Configuration 3 26th October 2007 12:37
[Multiple ISPConfig servers] Howto select best server for remoting account creation? krakoukas Installation/Configuration 4 8th July 2007 20:01
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 18:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.