#1  
Old 15th December 2009, 19:28
hdbbj hdbbj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Static IP help

I have a static IP and I believe I assigned it properly to the server. I'm using ubuntu 9.10 server edition.

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address xxx.xx.xxx.x - my static IP
netmask xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx - subnetmask
network xx.x.xx.xx - currently I have this set to what my routers dhcp starting range is
broadcast xx.x.xx.xxx - currently I have this set to what my routers dhcp ending range is
gateway xxx.xx.xxx.xx - I have this set to the gateway the tech wrote down for me

The issue I'm having is that postfix isn't seeing internet e-mail and I think the issue is because it's listening on the router IP and not my static IP. I just want to make sure my settings are correct before moving on with troubleshooting further.

So if someone could explain what network, and broadcast values should be I'd appreciate it.

Edit: with the information above my website is fine when my static IP is called in the browser or via domain name. Internet connectivity works great so I'm guessing the values are correct, I just need clarification.

Thanks for any input!

Last edited by hdbbj; 15th December 2009 at 19:29. Reason: Forgot to mention
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th December 2009, 07:40
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
Default

You can check what address postfix is listening to using this command
Code:
netstat ntlp|grep :25
Here is a primer on networking http://www.linuxhomenetworking.com/w..._to_Networking
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th December 2009, 17:57
hdbbj hdbbj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Thank you Topdog.. that was a very long but notable read. Now time to setup my values based on those calculations.

Everything seems to be working and I still have internet connectivity so I'm guessing it works!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static image server requirements/thoughts? Tipem Technical 3 23rd June 2008 20:50
kernel compile error/ndiswrapper error Droogie Kernel Questions 1 28th April 2008 21:38
more than 1 Static IP on DSL? cybergal Installation/Configuration 1 6th March 2008 16:30
seting up static ip for server cruz Technical 1 2nd October 2007 18:42
Static IP address doesn't work - DHCP does edopizza Installation/Configuration 6 13th May 2006 12:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.