Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th December 2009, 10:48
hugolambert hugolambert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb I'm a nut in suPHP help me I gonna cry

Hi all
I installed ispconfig and enabled suphp for my website, but when I try to do what ispconfig usually do when creating mails, I use exec (su .... blah blah) and I got this error message : "su: must be run from a terminal"
So now I feel alone and sad in front of this stupid error log file
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th December 2009, 16:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,736
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,597 Times in 4,408 Posts
Default

Please post the exact error message.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th December 2009, 23:06
hugolambert hugolambert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default exact message

the exact message in the ispconfig log is [Sun Dec 13 08:44:14 2009] [error] [client my.ip] su: must be run from a terminal, referer: http://www.mywebsite.fr/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th December 2009, 19:58
hugolambert hugolambert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default arg

I really cannot get to the point : why on earth ispconfig can do exec commands under php when websites with suexec and suphp cannot do it?
Why?????????????????????????
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th December 2009, 20:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,736
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,597 Times in 4,408 Posts
Default

You totally mix up things. The ispconfig interface does not use a single exec commnd. ISPConfig consists of a interface part which runs on apache and a separate daemon which executes commands and has higher priveliges.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th December 2009, 22:56
hugolambert hugolambert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so there is no way for instance that I call a cgi script that would be able to create mail directories on the server like it does on ispconfig?
And if not, how to run a deamon with higher privileges?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th December 2009, 12:06
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,736
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,597 Times in 4,408 Posts
Default

Quote:
so there is no way for instance that I call a cgi script that would be able to create mail directories on the server like it does on ispconfig?
Thts not possible. At least not without big security holes. You will have to use a separated daemon and interface part.

Quote:
And if not, how to run a deamon with higher privileges?
Thats too much to explian here in detail. There are two ways, either run a daemon that is started automatically at boot time with a init script that processes changes in the system or you use a root cronjob for that. Take a look at the ispconfig sources and installer if you want to know how this can be done.

But the easiest way is, just use ispconfig. It does everything that is needed to configure your system and if you want to add additional mailboxes from a external script, use the remote api.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th December 2009, 16:50
hugolambert hugolambert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info, but how can I install the remote framework? there is nothing in the update section (system) of ispconfig3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th December 2009, 17:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,736
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,597 Times in 4,408 Posts
Default

The remote framework is already part of ispconfig. The demo files are also in the remote_client directory of the ispconfig 3 tar.gz. Dont mix this up with the remoting framework of ispconfig 2.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th December 2009, 23:44
hugolambert hugolambert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default thank's

Thank's for the tips ! It's great !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
suPHP file permission catalyst General 14 7th March 2010 02:16
suPHP 0.7.0 compatible with ISPConfig2 ? Hans Installation/Configuration 9 30th January 2009 13:52
Debian suPHP security patch pjdevries Installation/Configuration 8 21st May 2008 09:36
Goal: user separation (but apache can't read what suPHP wrote) berny Installation/Configuration 1 26th April 2008 19:22
suPHP Problem with user webs Lobanak Installation/Configuration 2 2nd October 2007 00:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.