#1  
Old 15th March 2014, 14:56
ItsDom ItsDom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default HHVM (HipHop) with ISPConfig

Hi.

HHVM is HipHop VM. It was written by Facebook and "it works by converting PHP code into high level bytecode(an intermediate language) this bytecode is the translated into machine code dynamically at runtime by a JIT (Just-In-Time) compiler." (http://coderoncode.com/2013/07/24/in...tion-hhvm.html). It does all this behind the scenes so in terms of usage and development, it's the same as PHP once setup, but a lot faster.

It was originally designed as a full stack including webserver, but recently, they released a version support to run with another web server, via fastCGI

I found that the prebuilt version on the github for CentOS (https://github.com/facebook/hhvm/wik...for-centos-6.x) was problematic. It required a newer version of binutils for gcc than was easily available for CentOS 6.5.

Instead I used the version available in the hop.in repo using instructions available here: http://nareshv.blogspot.co.uk/2013/1...centos-65.html

You can then start it running with hhvm --mode daemon -vServer.Type=fastcgi -vServer.Port=8999

I used port 8999 to avoid conflicting with php-fpm.

To set it running, I then added the following nginx directive for the domain on which to run it:

Code:
location ~ \.php$ {
    fastcgi_keep_conn on;
    fastcgi_pass 127.0.0.1:8999;
    fastcgi_index index.php;
    fastcgi_param SCRIPT_FILENAME $document_root$fastcgi_script_name;
    include fastcgi_params;
  }
And it works. I've been playing with fat-free framework and the site I've been making, the difference between the start point and end point of the script with php-fpm was typically around 50ms - 75ms, with HHVM it's down to 10 - 20ms.

However, this runs everything as root, which is a big security issue if I were running on an external production server. You can specify which user to run HHVM with when you start the daemon with with --user.

Does anyone have any advice on the most efficient way to have all sites running HHVM, but all executing with the correct user for the site, other than having multiple daemon instances running, 1 for each user?



Thanks in advanced.

Dom.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th March 2014, 17:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Quote:
Does anyone have any advice on the most efficient way to have all sites running HHVM, but all executing with the correct user for the site, other than having multiple daemon instances running, 1 for each user?
I guess there is no other solution, when hhvm does not support contect switching. e.g. php-fpm runs a own daemon for each website as well. so that the normal way in doing it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th March 2014, 01:25
moglia moglia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Thanks: 6
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Lightbulb Adding HHVM support for ISPConfig 3.0.5.3 on Ubuntu 12.04

This is a workaround for adding HHVM support for ISPConfig, any update to ISPConfig will remove these changes and might break the installation.

This workaround is tested but is NOT guaranted to work, so please try it locally before applying to your server.

Before proceeding, if you do not have ISPConfig install it as described here : http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ot-ispconfig-3

1 – Checking/installinig PHP5-FPM

1st of all check that PHP5-FPM and suexec are installed on your server, if not you can do this AFTER installing ISPConfig

Code:
    
apt-get install apache2-mpm-worker apache2-suexec php5-cgi libapache2 mod-fcgid 
a2enmod fcgid
a2enmod suexec


2 – Install HHVM

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mapnik/boost
    wget -O – http://dl.hhvm.com/conf/hhvm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
    echo deb http://dl.hhvm.com/ubuntu precise main | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/hhvm.list
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install hhvm




3 – ISPConfig Modifications

in /interface/web/sites/form/web_domain.tform.php

Add :

Code:
    'hhvm' => 'HHVM Over PHP-FPM'

In the 'value' sub-array of this block :

          'php' => array (
                'datatype'    => 'VARCHAR',
                'formtype'    => 'SELECT',
                'default'    => 'fast-cgi',
                'valuelimit' => 'client:web_php_options',
                'value'        => array('no' => 'disabled_txt', 'fast-cgi' => 'Fast-CGI', 'cgi' => 'CGI', 'mod' => 'Mod-PHP', 'suphp' => 'SuPHP', 'php-fpm' => 'PHP-FPM'),
                'searchable' => 2
            )

so the line will look like :

'value'        => array('no' => 'disabled_txt', 'fast-cgi' => 'Fast-CGI', 'cgi' => 'CGI', 'mod' => 'Mod-PHP', 'suphp' => 'SuPHP', 'php-fpm' => 'PHP-FPM', 'hhvm' => 'HHVM Over PHP-FPM'),

4 – in /server/conf/vhost.conf.master



Code:
after :

    after <tmpl_if name='php' op='==' value='php-fpm'> <IfModule mod_fastcgi.c>

Add :

    <tmpl_if name='php' op='==' value='hhvm'>
        <IfModule mod_fastcgi.c>
            <Directory {tmpl_var name='document_root'}/cgi-bin>
                Order allow,deny
                Allow from all
            </Directory>
                    AddHandler php5-fcgi .php
                    Action php5-fcgi /php5-fcgi
            Alias /php5-fcgi {tmpl_var name='document_root'}/cgi-bin/php5-fcgi-{tmpl_var name='ip_address'}-{tmpl_var name='port'}-{tmpl_var name='domain'}
            
            <tmpl_if name='use_tcp'>
                        FastCgiExternalServer {tmpl_var name='document_root'}/cgi-bin/php5-fcgi-{tmpl_var name='ip_address'}-{tmpl_var name='port'}-{tmpl_var name='domain'} -idle-timeout 300 -host 127.0.0.1:<tmpl_var name='hhvm_port'> -pass-header Authorization
            </tmpl_if>
            <tmpl_if name='use_socket'>
                        FastCgiExternalServer {tmpl_var name='document_root'}/cgi-bin/php5-fcgi-{tmpl_var name='ip_address'}-{tmpl_var name='port'}-{tmpl_var name='domain'} -idle-timeout 300 -socket <tmpl_var name='hhvm_socket'> -pass-header Authorization
            </tmpl_if>
        </IfModule>
    </tmpl_if>


Change this :

Code:
   <tmpl_if name='php' op='==' value='php-fpm'>
        DocumentRoot <tmpl_var name='web_document_root'>
    </tmpl_else>
        DocumentRoot <tmpl_var name='web_document_root_www'>
    </tmpl_if>
into this :

Code:
 <tmpl_if name='php' op='==' value='php-fpm'>
        DocumentRoot <tmpl_var name='web_document_root'>
    </tmpl_else>
        <tmpl_if name='php' op='==' value='hhvm'>
            DocumentRoot <tmpl_var name='web_document_root'>
        </tmpl_else>
            DocumentRoot <tmpl_var name='web_document_root_www'>
        </tmpl_if>
    </tmpl_if>

5 – server/plugins-avaialble/apache2_plugin.inc.php



add this method inside the class :

PHP Code:
    function hhvm_upstart($web_config){
        global 
$app,$conf;
        
// create upstart script
            
            //clear service_pool in mysql
            
            
$script_content '#!/bin/bash

    mysql –user="'
.$conf['db_user'].’” –password=”‘.$conf['db_password'].’” –database=”‘.$conf['db_database'].'" –execute="DELETE FROM service_pool"'."\n\n";
            
            
$upstart_services $app->db->queryAllRecords("SELECT * FROM web_domain WHERE type='vhost' and php = 'hhvm'");
            
file_put_contents('/tmp/isp/t.txt'print_r($upstart_services,true));
            if(
is_array($upstart_services) && !empty($upstart_services)){
                foreach (
$upstart_services as $service){
                    
$script_content .= 'cd '.$service['document_root']."\n";
                    
                    
$port '2' . ($web_config['php_fpm_start_port'] + $service['domain_id'– 1); // get the hhvm port
                    
$script_content .= 'hhvm –mode server -vServer.Type=fastcgi -vServer.Port=' $port ' > /dev/null 2>&1 & PID=$!; '."\n";
                    
$script_content .= 'mysql –user="'.$conf['db_user'].’” –password=”‘.$conf['db_password'].’” –database=”‘.$conf['db_database'].’” –execute=”INSERT INTO service_pool (service_type,server_id,service_pidVALUES (’hhvm’ ,.$service['domain_id'].'\', \'$PID\')"'."\n";
                    
                }
            }
            
            
file_put_contents('/etc/init.d/hhvm_ispconfig.sh'$script_content);
            
exec('chmod +x /etc/init.d/hhvm_ispconfig.sh');
            
exec('update-rc.d hhvm_ispconfig.sh defaults');
    } 


add this line to the end of update() method :

PHP Code:
 $this->hhvm_upstart($web_config); 



After :

PHP Code:
  $fpm_socket $socket_dir.$pool_name.'.sock';
    
$tpl->setVar('fpm_socket'$fpm_socket);
    
$tpl->setVar('fpm_port'$web_config['php_fpm_start_port'] + $data['new']['domain_id'– 1); 
Add :

PHP Code:
 $hhvm_socket $socket_dir.$pool_name.'.hhvm.sock';
    
$tpl->setVar('hhvm_socket'$hhvm_socket);
    
$tpl->setVar('hhvm_port''2' . ($web_config['php_fpm_start_port'] + $data['new']['domain_id'– 1)); 




Replace :

PHP Code:
 if($data['new']['php'] == 'php-fpm'){ 
With :

PHP Code:
  if($data['new']['php'] == ‘php-fpm’ || $data['new']['php'] == 'hhvm'){ 




Replace :

PHP Code:
 if(trim($data['old']['fastcgi_php_version']) != ” && $data['old']['php'] == 'php-fpm'){ 
With :

PHP Code:
   if(trim($data['old']['fastcgi_php_version']) != ” && ($data['old']['php'] == ‘php-fpm’  || $data['new']['php'] == 'hhvm')){ 


Replace :

PHP Code:
  if(trim($data['old']['fastcgi_php_version']) != ” && $data['old']['php'] == 'php-fpm'){ 
With :

PHP Code:
 if(trim($data['old']['fastcgi_php_version']) != ” && ($data['old']['php'] == ‘php-fpm’  || $data['new']['php'] == 'hhvm')){ 


in the end of method "php_fpm_pool_update" add :

//Remove all hhvm instances
PHP Code:
  $old_services $app->db->queryAllRecords("SELECT * FROM service_pool WHERE service_type = 'hhvm' AND server_id = '".$data['new']['domain_id']."'");
        if(
is_array($old_services) && !empty($old_services)){
            foreach (
$old_services as $old_service){
            
exec("kill -9 ".$old_service['service_pid']);
            }
        }
        
$app->db->query("DELETE FROM service_pool WHERE service_type = 'hhvm' AND server_id = '".$data['new']['domain_id']."'");

        
$tmpCurDir __DIR__// store the current cirectory
        
chdir($data['new']['document_root']); // change to the document root as HHVM needs to be run from there

        // start a fresh hhvm instance
        
$port '2' . ($web_config['php_fpm_start_port'] + $data['new']['domain_id'– 1); // get the hhvm port
        
$command =  'hhvm –mode server -vServer.Type=fastcgi -vServer.Port=' $port ' > /dev/null 2>&1 & echo $!; ';
        
$pid exec($command$output);

        
$app->db->query("INSERT INTO service_pool (service_type,server_id,service_pid) VALUES ('hhvm' ,'".$data['new']['domain_id']."', '".$pid."')"); 


6 – in /interface/web/sites/templates/web_domain_edit.htm



Replace :

PHP Code:
  if(jQuery('#php').val() == 'fast-cgi' || jQuery('#php').val() == 'php-fpm'){ 
With :

PHP Code:
 if(jQuery('#php').val() == 'fast-cgi' || jQuery('#php').val() == 'php-fpm' || jQuery('#php').val() == 'hhvm'){ 


Replace :

PHP Code:
   if(jQuery(this).val() == 'fast-cgi' || jQuery(this).val() == 'php-fpm'){ 
With :

PHP Code:
  if(jQuery(this).val() == 'fast-cgi' || jQuery(this).val() == 'php-fpm' || jQuery(this).val() == 'hhvm'){ 

7 – Create the following table in the ISPConfig database :

Code:
  CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `service_pool` (
      `service_id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
      `service_type` varchar(32) NOT NULL,
      `service_pid` int(11) NOT NULL,
      `server_id` int(11) NOT NULL,
      PRIMARY KEY (`service_id`),
      KEY `service_type` (`service_type`),
      KEY `server_id` (`server_id`)
    ) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8 AUTO_INCREMENT=1 ;

Hopy this will help you out guys ! Enjoy !
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to moglia For This Useful Post:
Horfic (25th March 2014), ItsDom (25th March 2014), till (25th March 2014)
  #4  
Old 13th April 2014, 14:06
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,235
Thanks: 70
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Is there any work being done on making ISPCFG3 support hhvm? I'm playing with it locally on a 1-website server and was thinking this could be so awesome if ISPCFG3 would support it at some stage..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th April 2014, 10:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

It is planned to implement it. If you like to help us and want to speed this up, make a fork of ispconfig master branch on our gitlab server, implement the function and make a merge request against the master branch.

Our gitlab server can be found here:

http://git,ispconfig.org
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3 - MultiServer Setup - With Dedicated Control Panel - How? SuperJC Installation/Configuration 4 16th October 2012 20:03
around 80 sleeping connections created by ISPConfig bkilinc General 2 1st October 2012 16:12
Control Panel - E-mail Tab is empty domi-nik General 15 14th April 2011 18:17
chroot SSH IspConfig2 kextra1 General 4 20th January 2011 18:41
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.