Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11th May 2006, 16:56
kaptk2 kaptk2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Tried that it did not work. This box has three interfaces. On one of the other interfaces djbdns is running as a caching only DNS. When I put in
Code:
listen = *
That caused some problems with mydns restarting and djbdns running.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 11th May 2006, 18:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What happens if you disable the firewall on the primary DNS?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16th May 2006, 21:05
kaptk2 kaptk2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was finally able to test it with out the firewall on, still the same bad zone responces. Any more ideas or am I stuck?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th May 2006, 15:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Is 192.168.1.122 the IP address of your primare DNS? Are both name servers in the same 192.168.1.x net?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17th May 2006, 18:10
kaptk2 kaptk2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes that is the IP of the primary DNS, the other server is not on the same subnet. The primary machine is acting as a firewall with 3 interfaces the internet, the LAN and a DMZ. The slave DNS is in the DMZ connected via a cross over cable. The 192.168.1.122 IP is the internet interface of the primary DNS. On the LAN interface there is a caching DNS server running.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 17th May 2006, 21:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Can you post the output of
Code:
ifconfig
from both the primary and the secondary DNS?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19th May 2006, 21:29
kaptk2 kaptk2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Fixed It

In the listen directive in in my DNS config I added my DMZ IP address. That fixed the problem. Thanks for your help on this falko!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New MyDNS Install Errors timgerr General 5 16th April 2009 18:07
MyDNS and ISPConfig CoDonCo General 3 27th July 2006 08:25
setting up a dns server (MYDNS) timgerr General 31 18th May 2006 12:27
MyDNS CentOS start on Reboot kaptk2 HOWTO-Related Questions 8 3rd April 2006 04:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.