Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > MyDNSConfig > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th February 2010, 15:43
Belelros Belelros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I setup my server?

Hello!

At first thanks for your time. I really don't know what else must I do in order that my domain and my server works together.

I've pointed my domain (raideando.com) to my server but I think I may have set up at MyDNS but I don't have any idea of how to do that. I'm really n00b with this as this is my first dedicated server I have.

May someone bring me some light?

I've tried to do something with my little knowledges about that but it is not working.

Thanks in advance for your time.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th February 2010, 14:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you install MyDNSConfig?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th February 2010, 15:03
Belelros Belelros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, it is in fact installed

Thanks for your reply
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th February 2010, 15:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Code:
mh1:~# dig ns raideando.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> ns raideando.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 42065
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;raideando.com.                 IN      NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
raideando.com.          172800  IN      NS      ks310370.kimsufi.com.
raideando.com.          172800  IN      NS      ns.kimsufi.com.

;; Query time: 155 msec
;; SERVER: 213.133.98.98#53(213.133.98.98)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 11 14:51:21 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 79

mh1:~#
Are ks310370.kimsufi.com and ns.kimsufi.com your own servers? If so, is MyDNS installed on them and running?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th February 2010, 17:49
Belelros Belelros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

My server is http://ks310370.kimsufi.com and you can check that MyDNS is installed in it by entering http://ks310370.kimsufi.com:8080/

ns.kimsufi.com is the secondary DNS that our hoster provide us.

The only thing I think is missing is the settings at the server.

Thanks for your replies ^^
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th February 2010, 15:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

In MyDNSConfig, you must first create a zone for raideando.com, and afterwards you add records like www, mail, etc.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th February 2010, 15:47
Belelros Belelros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
In MyDNSConfig, you must first create a zone for raideando.com, and afterwards you add records like www, mail, etc.
Thats where I need help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th February 2010, 17:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Where exactly? What fields give you problems?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th February 2010, 19:03
Belelros Belelros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Well I set up a DNS zone but it seems that isn't working. I've tried so many configs and waited 24 hours but when you enter at raideando.com it keep solving host and, finally, doesn't work.

I don't know what to do right now

http://yfrog.com/jbmydnsconfigj

You can see that is well configured and also the Dig works as intended but... what's wrong so?

Last edited by Belelros; 15th February 2010 at 13:47.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 06:35
Ubuntu Server, postfix, gmail relay sjau Server Operation 3 14th December 2010 19:20
New Server! New 10x1TB NAS! How do I setup ISPConfig to work with this!!! sierradump Installation/Configuration 14 24th January 2009 18:52
Going to setup a small company server... but how? LINUXstarter Server Operation 13 23rd December 2007 19:33
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 18:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.