Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd November 2009, 14:19
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default How can I setup DNS in my master-master replication of ISPConfig?

Hello to everybody,
as maybe you remember, I've setup 2 mailserver with a master-master replication of mysql and /var/vmail (with glusterfs).

Now that the configuration is finished, I've to setup the DNS.
The idea is: from the webpage of my ISP, I'll setup the DNS with 2 priorities, the first one for the master server, the second one for the backup server, so that if the master server is down, the backup server will be the master one.

What I have to setup in ISPConfig to finish this configuration?

Thanks
Michele
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd November 2009, 16:42
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I'm completly lost with DNS parameters...

This is what I;ve already done:
On the webpage of my ISP, I've pointed the domain test.com to my 2 servers, as primary and secondary name server. (SRV1 and SRV2)

Now it's the time of ISPConfig.
What I want is this: the email must be read ad mail.test.com
This link must point to SRV1/roundcube and, as second option, to SRV2/roundcube, so that is SRV1 is down, the customers can read the email from the SRV2.
Of course the priority is a business of my ISP.
Now, how can I setup ISPConfig to have :
ON SRV1: mail.test.com -> SRV1/roundcube
and
ON SRV2: mail.test.com -> SRV2/roundcube
???

Thanks
Michele

Last edited by voltron81; 2nd November 2009 at 16:47.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd November 2009, 22:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,498 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

Create two dns A-Records for mail.test.com, one that points to IP of server one and one that points to the IP of server 2. then create a website mail.test.com on every server and install roundcube in it. Every roundcube installation shall connect to the imap server on localhost.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd November 2009, 11:08
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot Till for your suggestions.

At the moment I'm having a problem with priority of the domains... my ISP (1&1) look like don't give me the possibility to setup 2 servers for a DNS with prioritities... so now I've the problem how to setup DNS in the way that, when SRV1 is down, the DNS will be connected with SRV2...

Any idea?

Thanks again
Michele
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd November 2009, 11:38
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Ok I find the way to setup two name servers dor the DNS with 1&1, but now the problem is that there is no priority (randomly the DNS is pointing to SRV1 and SRV2).
This is a problem because, for example, is I'm reading a webmail to srv1 and after 2 minutes I refresh the page, maybe the DNS will be pointed ti SRV2 and I've to autenthicate again...

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd November 2009, 13:27
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

This is the point: once that I've created two dns A-Records for mail.test.com, one that points to IP of server one and one that points to the IP of server 2, I'll have a round-robin DNS, and it's fine.
The problem is: even if I'll setup a cache limit that decide when DNS will skip from SRV1 to SRV2, what will happen if somebody is reading his email on SRV1 and in that moment DNS will skip to SRV2? The customer will have to logon again...

Somebody knows a solution for this problem?
Sorry if I'm posting a lot, but I've almost finish my installation and I would like to complete it to see the final result...

Thanks
Michele
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd November 2009, 17:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,498 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

DNS will not change in a session as the internet browser does not query dns again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd November 2009, 18:27
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
DNS will not change in a session as the internet browser does not query dns again.
Are you sure? Surely it will query again when the TTL has expired? It wont cache it for ever?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th November 2009, 08:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,413
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,498 Times in 4,328 Posts
Default

I recommend that you just try it. Do you expect that your clients keep up sessions open for days or weeks?

If thats really an issue for you, you might need to install a failover and session aware loadbalancer. Falko has published some howtos on these topics here on howtoforge.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th November 2009, 10:42
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
I recommend that you just try it. Do you expect that your clients keep up sessions open for days or weeks?

If thats really an issue for you, you might need to install a failover and session aware loadbalancer. Falko has published some howtos on these topics here on howtoforge.
Thanks I will look into them.

Not days but at least a few hours (business hours). If I set the TTL to 9 hours though then I could in theory have 9 hours of downtime which is too high.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
step-by-step DNS Setup for ISPConfig!?! bolinux Installation/Configuration 3 31st May 2011 21:18
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
CentOS 5.1 Server Setup: LAMP, Email, DNS, FTP, ISPConfig (a.k.a. The Perfect Server) madman045 HOWTO-Related Questions 4 1st May 2008 20:45
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
DNS: Multiple IPs, want to setup a "private" nameserver on each IP for resellers bpmee Server Operation 8 17th September 2006 09:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.