Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th October 2008, 08:22
coolen coolen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy FTP tag vanished from website setup

Hi all,

I just installed ispconfig on a brandnew box and also for the 1st time in my life.

After stopping ftp service, switching to proftp and restarting again, the ftp tag vanished from the ispsite screen, and I have no place anymore where I can access the ftp login settings for the websites.

Any idea what happened? what is wrong? and how to solve this ?

B4 this (and now on the remaining screens) whatever site I choose doesn't matter, but as soon as I access the ISPCustomer setup screens I get:
all tabs reflect the right customer, however all login screens on all customers (and I had that for all ftp also when I still had the tab) reflect the last filled in user stuff, not the one highlighted in the left tree. And If I change here, all other clients (seem) to alter to this one also. At least in the ispconfig screens.

Since I haven't been able to setup mail and ftp correctly yet I can't check if the real data is correct, and it is merely an ispconfig screen init failure somehow


Ispconfig 2.2.26 on suse 11

Any help greatly appreciated, since I'm fairly new to this i might have questions later again
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th October 2008, 10:58
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,460
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Quote:
B4 this (and now on the remaining screens) whatever site I choose doesn't matter, but as soon as I access the ISPCustomer setup screens I get:
all tabs reflect the right customer, however all login screens on all customers (and I had that for all ftp also when I still had the tab) reflect the last filled in user stuff, not the one highlighted in the left tree. And If I change here, all other clients (seem) to alter to this one also. At least in the ispconfig screens.
I guess your browser has a extension enebled that fills in forms and passwords automatically. Please disable this.

Quote:
After stopping ftp service, switching to proftp and restarting again, the ftp tag vanished from the ispsite screen, and I have no place anymore where I can access the ftp login settings for the websites.
Changing the FTP daemon on the shell can not cause this as ISPConfog wont even recognize it. You must have changed something else. Please check that you enabled FTP access in the reseller settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
  #3  
Old 11th October 2008, 11:41
coolen coolen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply,

I have no resellers configured, so where should I look at ftp enabled then ?
The ftp tab HAS been there, it just disappeared between two logins

as for the website, I installed all out of the box, and used only the recommended perfect setup for suse 11 to prepare for ISPConfig, I use konquerer as browser, but I have no idea if it has auto completion, I disabled auto fill in for form, but that didn't change it yet. BTW, it's not only the name/pwd but also the site name
Say I have site A and site B then all tabs display their right info, only the
login management tab shows user A for name, login AND Title on both choices
  #4  
Old 11th October 2008, 20:33
coolen coolen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

After restart the 2nd issue seems solved.

However still no ftp tab in website menu anymore., made a reseller and moved one client + website under it, still not ftp tab..
  #5  
Old 11th October 2008, 21:05
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,460
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

ISPConfig does not has a FTP tab. The FTP accounts are on the user & email Tab.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
  #6  
Old 11th October 2008, 22:29
coolen coolen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Gebruiker Nieuw
Gebruiker Uname Email Admin CatchAll
web2_arthur Arthur Coolen arthur 1 0
web2_betty Betty Tichelaar betty 0 0


This is what is there, I seem to remember that I had to fill in name pwd for ftp somewhere Sorry if my failing memory made me post a wrong msg here

Then something else must be wrong, since I can enter admin from another outside computer (on either website it seems) but not any of the other accounts. I'll give it another try then

thanks and my apologies
  #7  
Old 11th October 2008, 23:13
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,460
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Thats the email and FTP users, so everythin is as it should be.

Just enter username: web2_arthur and the password of this user in your FTP client.

As you see abocve, there is no user with the name admin. I guess oyu mix up the ispconfig control panel logins with the ftp logins.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
  #8  
Old 12th October 2008, 11:04
coolen coolen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

thanks for your patience and help.

The above was just an example of one of the sites.

I tried a lot here, but it doesn't seem to work.

I configured both vsftpd as well as proftpd, in both cases:

for ispconfig screens.

if I go to https://localhost:81 or (from outside) to
https:192.168.1.72:81 or one of the domains:
https:/www.abe-en-henk.nl:81
https:/www.cafestrings.com:81
or others.

the only way I can log into the ispconfig page i get there is via
admin and the admin pwd, and that gets me in all cases to the main isp config page.

as soon as I try to log in with the user (for example web2_arthur) and the pwd on the correct site, it gives me a wrong name/pwd combination
(and mind me, that same name+pwd DOES work on the WEB-FTP tab from within the admin screens)

ERROR 101: wrong username or password.

I have ftp (on cmd prompt ) working now, looks like smartftp gave me some errors that have to do with smartftp(it insists on wanting to use Sftp in stead of ftp) and not with my setup.

Thanks again.
  #9  
Old 12th October 2008, 11:14
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,460
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

You totally mix up the logins. Uers from the email and user tab can never login to ISPConfig and this has nothing to do with Email!

Clients and resellers can login to ISPConfig.
Users from the email and user tab can logoin with a FTP Clinet, with smtp and pop3 and imap.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
coolen (31st October 2008)
  #10  
Old 12th October 2008, 11:35
coolen coolen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Red face

Hi Till

this thread can be closed.

Thanks for pointing me to the right direction.

I JUST found out the difference between the 2 logins

wanted to post but you were way ahead on me again

Please understand, I came to ISP config because it was advised 2 me to make things easier, since I have totally no experience in running and maintaining all that I need to have some websites. The package is great, but also has in itself a lot to understand. So I'm just stumbling around a bit

Was looking for a first steps or setup example ala the doc on how to prepare the system for ISP, but then in setting up reseller-client-site together with the external ftp-mail stuff, but haven't been able to locate one.

So, being new to all, AND having a difficult situation in the sites I have running for friends did me make mix up problems.

I would like to make the situation easier, but for now I have no clue how to do that.


I have:

my own access via kpn (my own ip being static and 77.161.236.229)

then I have a few .com sites registered and maintained via www.domainguru.net, and I found out that the redirection service they run doesn't work for ispconfig.

so I had to setup up a dns at freedns (like for the .nl domains i have) to point to my box.

too complicated and main source of mixing the errors.


This is not the tread for this however. And I'm sure that with or without the excelent help here i will be able to find out more about how to set things up correctly.


Thanks for your patience and help so far.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ftp is very slow and asks for user/passwd continuously chico58 Installation/Configuration 7 8th October 2008 12:43
proFTPd passive mode problems bisbell Server Operation 8 6th August 2008 21:12
Question about Virtual Hosting With Proftpd And MySQL (Incl. Quota) On Debian Etch ikkem HOWTO-Related Questions 30 26th February 2008 19:38
FTP Error joshabts Installation/Configuration 3 4th November 2006 16:19
Website users? ctroyp General 25 6th January 2006 18:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.