#1  
Old 23rd October 2009, 22:00
topgun390 topgun390 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kloosterzande
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default problems whith MX records

Hi everybody

we run ispconfig now for a wile En we switch to ispconfig 3.0.1.6 on a seconde server everthing went well till we deside to add a seconde mail server.
we have enter a MX record priority 20 mail.somedomein.nl and a a record mail and ip number. that went fine with no problems. now we dig ore ns server on the same server it saye mx 10 mailb.somedomein.nl
but doese not list the mx20
we lookt in the data base and mx 20 and the a record are listed.
now we dont know what to do
can annyone help us pls.

thx for the respons

Last edited by topgun390; 23rd October 2009 at 22:24.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th October 2009, 10:25
Ketama Ketama is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello topgun390,

Your mx reccord should be placed in soa_rr,

name type data aux
domain.nl. MX mail.domain.nl. 20

did you dig like : dig somedomain.nl -t mx
or did you use: dig @yournameserver somedomain.nl -t mx

where your nameserver is the server with ISPConfig - DNS

because if your dns reccords are not synced yet with the other name servers, they wont know yet what the new fresh settings are..

Hope I helped a bit..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th October 2009, 17:23
topgun390 topgun390 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kloosterzande
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hi Ketama

[QUOTE=Ketama;208357]Hello topgun390,
Thx for the replie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketama View Post
Your mx reccord should be placed in soa_rr,
the mx record is placed in dns_rr

just like you discripte
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketama View Post
name type data aux
domain.nl. MX mail.domain.nl. 20
we did the both way of dig but both metodes did not render the mx 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketama View Post
did you dig like : dig somedomain.nl -t mx
or did you use: dig @yournameserver somedomain.nl -t mx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketama View Post
where your nameserver is the server with ISPConfig - DNS
Yes the dns server is the server with ispconfig 3.0.1.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketama View Post
because if your dns reccords are not synced yet with the other name servers, they wont know yet what the new fresh settings are..

Hope I helped a bit..

So we dont know what to change now
A month of 2 a 3 agow we have enter the mx 10 and that went wel.

Last edited by topgun390; 24th October 2009 at 17:30.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th October 2009, 17:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,777
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you have a dot at the end of the domain name of the MX record.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
topgun390 (24th October 2009)
  #5  
Old 24th October 2009, 18:15
topgun390 topgun390 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kloosterzande
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi Till

Thx for pointing us in the richt direction we mist the dot at the end od the domain.
thx a lot for the devolpmend of a verry good cp we ussed it now for about 4 years. and we are trilled whith the release of ispconfig 3 for multi servers.

thx and a good weekend

grz Topgun
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dns, mx records

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Management/system config/settings & /server/settings not working!! dactor Installation/Configuration 9 6th February 2008 09:11
Webalizer isn't working every night FlashOver General 5 20th October 2007 16:57
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52
Empty Recycle Bin jon335 General 40 6th May 2006 11:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.