#1  
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:59
sysfix sysfix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default First Setup Advice

HI, I have a domain hosted by a "REAL ISP" however I use this for my main business website. I would like to create an internal (in the office) server that will provide our clients (external) with WEB Hosting.

Now - when i'm installing ISPConfig3, it asks for a domain and hostname
as below...

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.0.100 server1.example.com server1

so would I change this to my "REAL ISP domain".co.uk
Would I have to create this webserver.mydomain on my "REAL ISP" DNS list?

Im confused....
All I want is to provide web hosting with a server based in the office.
How will mail work? This setup creates a mail server but we already have an external mail server with the ISP.


Help greatly appreciated before i cock this up before I even start.

Last edited by sysfix; 22nd October 2009 at 01:28.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd September 2009, 11:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,383
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
Default

Quote:
Would I have to create this webserver.mydomain on my "REAL ISP" DNS list?
Yes. It must be a real and existing domain name if you want to be able to access your server from the internet.

Quote:
How will mail work? This setup creates a mail server but we already have an external mail server with the isp.
You dont have to use the internal mailserver, but you have to install it or your websites will not work.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd September 2009, 14:00
sysfix sysfix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay - well installed everything now..
I created a DNS entry with my ISP ubuntu.mydomain and pointed it to my server. I then opened up 80 and 8080 and forwarded them to my server. Is that correct.

When I installed it asked for server name, so i used ubuntu.mydomain
Is that correct...

I havent added external IPs to the system as i only have one and thats my router so have forwarded ports to internal IP.



Is there a way to take a payment for a hosting plan and autoimatically create the user etc on ispconfig?


Im also very confused about dns and name servers....
Do i need them?



At the moment, I have a spare domain name with an isp and have created DNS entries for www and forwarded them to the router IP.. This works fine. I guess I have to do mail too....

BUT What is internal DNS server for and nameserver?

Can i host my own domain names like ISPs do?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd October 2009, 01:33
sysfix sysfix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default annoyed

Still having problems with this!
__________________
IT Support Contracts
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd October 2009, 13:06
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,383
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,485 Times in 4,317 Posts
 
Default

You should read this to get a better understanding on the DNS system:

http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems ingvar Installation/Configuration 6 31st July 2010 13:13
Trouble with Postfix setup not working wmkconn Server Operation 13 9th April 2008 21:45
New ISPconfig setup domain question wildgoosed Installation/Configuration 1 1st August 2007 20:30
Advice on how to setup Lintrack As A LAN Gateway And An OpenVPN Bridge eddiequek HOWTO-Related Questions 0 12th July 2007 10:38
Debian perfect setup network problem reddogg Installation/Configuration 2 18th January 2006 22:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.