Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th October 2009, 01:44
da_Fohz da_Fohz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with sub-domain

Hi there!

I have registered a domain example.com with GoDaddy and setup everything on their side and on my machine.

I want to install RoundCube (which isn't a problem) but I would like to have it on webmail.example.com.

On ISPConfig, I created the website for example.com, to which www.example.com and example.com respond fine. I then created the website 'webmail.example.com', so I could have RoundCube on a folder structure separate from the main website.

On my DNS zone records, I have:

A mail xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
A webmail xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
A www xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
MX mail.example.com

I can dig any of these combinations:

mail.example.com, www.example.com, example.com, webmail.example.com.

But when I try webmail.example.com in the browser, it shows me the page of (www.)example.com, and not the index.html file in the webmail.example.com folder.

What I believe is that the vhost registered in apache is directing all its traffice to the main site, and does not recognize the other.

Can anyone help me out on this matter? I have been reading stuff everywhere for almost 3h and can't seem to sort this out.

Thanks,
Lus

Edited:
Do I need to set up any type of redirection?

Last edited by da_Fohz; 12th October 2009 at 01:48. Reason: Included last question.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th October 2009, 12:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Remove the subdomain and create a nwe website "webmail.example.com" if you like to have a separate folder structure. Subdomains are aliaes for the site were you added them to and not a separate vhost. If you want a separate vhost, add the subdomain as new site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th October 2009, 14:31
da_Fohz da_Fohz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till, thank you for your collaboration.

As I said before:

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_Fohz View Post
On ISPConfig, I created the website for example.com, to which www.example.com and example.com respond fine.I then created the website 'webmail.example.com', so I could have RoundCube on a folder structure separate from the main website.
It's definitely something wrong with the vhost configuration ISPConfig creates in Apache2 (or I'm configuring something wrong in ISPConfig) because in the ISPConfig website panel, I selected my main domain example.com and put it as inactive. Thus, the vhost entry in Apache was removed and I was able to use webmail.example.com.

Regards,
Lus
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th October 2009, 14:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you selcted the correct IP address for all websites and not *.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th October 2009, 14:37
da_Fohz da_Fohz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What do you mean?

In the apache directive? Sorry, you lost me there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th October 2009, 14:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

There is just one field named "ip-address" in the website settings in ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th October 2009, 14:44
da_Fohz da_Fohz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Mine doesn't show any ip address, just * in the dropbox.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th October 2009, 14:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You can add the IP address in the system module.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th October 2009, 15:02
da_Fohz da_Fohz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was trying to find screenshots of the control panel to see where in the System tab I could add that as I don't remember seeing that option.

I will try once I get home, server is offline now. Danke schn!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th October 2009, 18:10
da_Fohz da_Fohz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ok, added my static ip in system -> Edit server ip, and changed the ip in both websites, from * to 94.***.***.***.

Now when I go to webmail.example.com, I get:

Quote:
Not Found

The requested URL / was not found on this server.

Apache/2.2.11 (Ubuntu) PHP/5.2.6-3ubuntu4.2 with Suhosin-Patch mod_ssl/2.2.11 OpenSSL/0.9.8g Server at webmail.example.com Port 80
And when I try www.example.com, example.com, it returns address not found, which means it's not even reaching my nameserver.

Of course example.com is a registered and valid domain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem deleting a Site and Domain in ISPCONFIG dnarol General 4 9th November 2009 12:34
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 13:20
problem user @ domain aurelius Installation/Configuration 3 5th October 2008 00:57
Problem with Domain and Statistic thgenzel General 1 18th January 2007 08:45
SSL related problems senzapaura Installation/Configuration 45 25th March 2006 15:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.