Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 28th September 2009, 15:18
Mccy_McFlinn Mccy_McFlinn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ah ok. Well we can create a default file in sites-available with the content below (or you can specify your own details). Then link it in sites-enabled and restart apache.

Code:
VirtualHost *:80>
        ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost

        DocumentRoot /var/www/
        <Directory />
                Options FollowSymLinks
                AllowOverride None
        </Directory>
        <Directory /var/www/>
                Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
                AllowOverride None
                Order allow,deny
                allow from all
        </Directory>

        ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /usr/lib/cgi-bin/
        <Directory "/usr/lib/cgi-bin">
                AllowOverride None
                Options +ExecCGI -MultiViews +SymLinksIfOwnerMatch
                Order allow,deny
                Allow from all
        </Directory>

        ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/error.log

        # Possible values include: debug, info, notice, warn, error, crit,
        # alert, emerg.
        LogLevel warn

        CustomLog /var/log/apache2/access.log combined

    Alias /doc/ "/usr/share/doc/"
    <Directory "/usr/share/doc/">
        Options Indexes MultiViews FollowSymLinks
        AllowOverride None
        Order deny,allow
        Deny from all
        Allow from 127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 ::1/128
    </Directory>

</VirtualHost>
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 28th September 2009, 15:19
Stown Stown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Limburg, NL
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Stown
Default

Is it not maybe an idea too add a <select> dropdown in server ip configs to change the default master domain for it? That is more controlable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28th September 2009, 15:28
Mccy_McFlinn Mccy_McFlinn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

That is normally controlled the by default vhost file that's installed with apache. I'm not entirely sure why yours is not on your server.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th September 2009, 15:40
Stown Stown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Limburg, NL
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Stown
Default

Aha, so i should have that file. Alright, could be because i recently reinstalled apache and ispconfig. When i get home i take a look in the old site-available folder ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28th September 2009, 15:43
Mccy_McFlinn Mccy_McFlinn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Perfect. Let me know if you require any further assistance. And for the record till's advice is perfectly sound and perfectly viable as an alternative solution especially as it's then controllable from the ISPConfig interface.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 5th October 2009, 02:31
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeva View Post
Hi

Using ISPconfig3 + debian5 preconfigured-preinstalled distro from OVH.co.uk.

I've created a user, e.g. user1
then I've created a website for user1, e.g. domain1.com
created a shell for user1 with no jail.
setup the DNS, etc.

So when I go to domain1.com, i get

Code:
Welcome to your website!
This is the default index page of your website.

This file may be deleted or overwritten without any difficulty. This is produced by the file index.html in the web directory.

For questions or problems please contact support.
Powered by ISPConfig
When I FTP or SSH into user1. I get my directory list of /web /home /cgi-bin /etc /ssl /tmp /var, etc

cd web
/web$ rm -rf *
now /web is blank
I upload my website to /web, which is ofcourse full of files now including a new index.html & index.php.

when i go to domain1.com, I still get the "Welcome to your website - ISPconfig", eventhough I've replaced the files.

What have I done wrong?

Regards,
I am having this very same problem but on a second machine that I have just recently configured using the Perfect Server guide for OpenSuse 11.1

In addition, the new files created on either websites are "Not Found" and giving me a 404 error but the default ISPConfig3 page "Welcome to your website!" is loaded on all websites via a browser. Even after deleting the index.html file originally created with a new domain the page is still loading.

I have added the server IP and selected them for each account with so resolution of the problem. As I said, I have another box running the exact same Linux OS and version of ISPConfig 3 with the original box running perfectly.

Could someone help me with this? Thanks!
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 5th October 2009, 11:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,444
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

Any errors in the system log in the monitoer? Have all items been processed in the jobqueue?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 5th October 2009, 11:33
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 141
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Any errors in the system log in the monitoer? Have all items been processed in the jobqueue?
Thanks for tht response. I just realized that the second web server is trying to access port 80 which is being used by the first. Anyway to rectify this problem? I looked at the proxy reversal method but it was for debian and I could not get it to work with open suse 11.1
__________________
Running:

ISPConfig 3
openSUSE Linux 11.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
web

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After moving a client into another group, the client cannot create anything tini Installation/Configuration 2 6th September 2009 20:43
SSL Issues on Client Websites deezone General 1 24th December 2008 17:06
Apache2 server stopped working and fails restart without error chillifire Installation/Configuration 3 13th March 2008 16:26
vsftp - 550 Failed to change directory latcarf Server Operation 8 14th May 2006 02:05
Users and websites aren't created Glorfindel Installation/Configuration 9 23rd February 2006 04:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.