Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd September 2009, 21:10
zodehala zodehala is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default i can not change IP on centos 5.3

my current network conf is

Code:
interface et0
IP 192.168.2.50
netmask 255.255.255.0
gw 192.168.2.1
bcast 192.168.1.255
mtu 1492
to change ip command is

Code:
ifconfig eth0 192.168.2.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.2.255  mtu 1500
after above command i restarted network but no any changes
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th September 2009, 01:16
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Either I'm having a dejavu or You're doubleposting.

Can't seem to find the other post now so here's the answer.
Try:
Code:
ifup eth0
All that will change the network settings only temporary.
To make a permanent change enter:
Code:
setup
and change the network settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th September 2009, 02:31
athmane athmane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Algeria
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Run
Code:
system-config-network
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th September 2009, 16:49
zodehala zodehala is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

why can i not do it using command?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th September 2009, 06:35
edenCC edenCC is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Or you can modify the configuration file directly at /etc/sysconfig/network-script/ifcfg-eth0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th September 2009, 14:18
matey matey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 93
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

is that really should be et0
or eth0
?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect system Centos 5.3 with ISPConfig 2 fails at mod_ruby mcaramb Installation/Configuration 14 8th June 2009 21:33
Centos 5.2 + ISPConfig 3 tutorial - Problem with email tanakskool Server Operation 1 3rd June 2009 17:22
have the problem with mydns on CentOS 5.3 x86_64 thaibinhtt Installation/Configuration 1 26th May 2009 09:59
PHP & PowerDNS and PowerAdmin on CentOS 5.3 need_a_linux_brain HOWTO-Related Questions 9 4th May 2009 16:42
Need CentOS 5.3 Nikto, DenyHosts, FTtester, Chrooted SSH, Chkrootkit-Portsentry need_a_linux_brain HOWTO-Related Questions 0 1st May 2009 20:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.