#1  
Old 24th September 2009, 08:15
skoena skoena is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emmen, Netherlands
Posts: 421
Thanks: 77
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Send a message via MSN to skoena Send a message via Skype™ to skoena
Default phpinfo

I added this to a php file and uploaded it to my server:

Quote:
<?php
phpinfo();
?>
When I open this file in my browser I get a white screen, nothing happens? Any ideas, suggestions?
(My site with a phpbb3 forum is functioning normal.)

Rudolf.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th September 2009, 08:43
Miguel Miguel is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maasmechelen - Belgium
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default No phpinfo

Hi Rudolf,

since you have a phpBB3 that works, than your php extension is loaded and being used .

A setting I use myself in the php.ini (look for disable_functions) is:

disable_functions = phpinfo

Phpinfo is then disabled via the server and returns a blank page when it is called in a page as <?php phpinfo(); ?> or whatever variation of the phinfo command.

I use this setting to improve security, visitors don't need to know which version of php I'm running and / or php extensions enabled.

Check if this setting is on on your server, this would explain why it doesn't display the information.

If you're on a hosted service, than your provider might have set this setting => one has to enabled it, by default disable_functions is empty and commented out in the php.ini.

Kind regards,

Miguel

Last edited by Miguel; 24th September 2009 at 08:45.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th September 2009, 09:19
skoena skoena is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emmen, Netherlands
Posts: 421
Thanks: 77
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Send a message via MSN to skoena Send a message via Skype™ to skoena
Default

Hi there,
Tnx for your message.
I checked my php.ini and I see that phpinfo is not disabled.

Rudolf.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th September 2009, 09:35
Miguel Miguel is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maasmechelen - Belgium
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unhappy Phpinfo

Ok Rudolf,

you can try this:

Code:
<? phpinfo(); ?>
instead of

Code:
<?php
phpinfo();
?>
This is a workaround for IIS doing sometimes strange things with php.

And last resort name the phpinfo.php to something else like info.php.

The latter worked for me once, even though I never could figure out why phpinfo.php was blocked since it was on a hosting provider. I now run my own servers.

If neighter works I don't of anything else that might cause it not do display the result .

Kind regards,

Miguel
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Miguel For This Useful Post:
rudolfpietersma (24th September 2009)
  #5  
Old 24th September 2009, 10:06
skoena skoena is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emmen, Netherlands
Posts: 421
Thanks: 77
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Send a message via MSN to skoena Send a message via Skype™ to skoena
Default

Hi there,
Tried it and still didn't work. I created a new blank file inserted the
Quote:
<? phpinfo(); ?>
and reuploaded it to the server. And now it works.

Thanks for your help!
Rudolf.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th September 2009, 10:20
Miguel Miguel is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maasmechelen - Belgium
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default Phpinfo

Hi Rudolf,

I'm glad to hear that it worked.

One of the issues might also be that you use Windows to write these files. If you do than use notepad or a html editor like coffeecup or whatever to make sure the formatting of the text is correct.

Windows likes to screw it up and then you get results you did not expect.

Kind regards,

Miguel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MySQL upgrade / phpinfo() jautukas87 Server Operation 1 17th September 2008 20:32
memcache doesn't show up in phpinfo() jautukas87 Server Operation 4 5th September 2008 23:41
phpinfo shows another version of php that the one in 2.2.21 rootnovato Installation/Configuration 2 17th March 2008 15:50
ISPCONFIG & PHP5 phpinfo() error montgac Installation/Configuration 3 8th August 2006 09:30
php.ini disable_functions = phpinfo mavgh1 HOWTO-Related Questions 4 17th March 2006 22:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.