Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 31st May 2006, 22:58
calande calande is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Curitiba, PR - Brazil
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you had to choose between MySQL 5 and PostgreSQL 8 for a large application such as digg.com or slashdot.org that grows fast and needs several servers to offer a responsive service, what would you choose? I think a MySQL cluster cuts it, right? I haven't been able to find a good PostgreSQL cluster solution out there... Seems like there are more DBAs who are good at MySQL clustering too...

What do you think?
__________________
Charles A. Landemaine.
_____________________________
Empresa de hospedagem de sites | Empresa de criação de sites | Fórum sobre hospedagem de sites
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 31st May 2006, 23:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I don't have much experience with PostgreSQL, so I'd vote for MySQL. And with the new MySQL 5.1, you can create clusters that don't need to run in RAM anymore (as was the case with previous versions).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13th June 2006, 11:16
golemlsit golemlsit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Failover with persistent connections

Hello and thanks for the tutorial...
I'm trying to set it up on centos servers,
the problem I have is I'd like to use the
persistent=3600
option in ldirectord.cf because I need session affinity.
The problem is , when I turn off an apache ( service httpd stop )
ldirector keeps the users which have been sent on that real server
on that connections and they get a 'server unreachable'.
Using ipvsadm I still see their connections as InActConn, even if the weight is
now set to 0.
Is there a way to clear the connection table when a real server goes down?

Another thing I noticed is that you list ips for the webservers (192.168.0.101, 192.168.0.102) but never tell to configure an interface (es eth0:0) for them.
If I understood correctly the only ip which is brought up and down by the system is the VIP (192.168.0.105), all the others must already be up on the 2 nodes, right?

Thanks a lot
G.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13th June 2006, 17:30
golemlsit golemlsit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default persistent connections

I found it out and I'll answer myself:
I needed
quiescent=no
in ldirectord.cf
as shown in the manpage
http://www.penguin-soft.com/penguin/...directord.html
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15th June 2006, 05:54
noahlau noahlau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello all,

is it possible to use same machine ( load balancer ) to load balance both httpd and mysql ?

many thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15th June 2006, 16:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I haven't tried, but I don't see why it shouldn't work.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18th January 2007, 15:59
markg85 markg85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi all,

First of all.. thanx falko for the grwad howto

i`ve followed every step on the howto and the loadbalancing itself seems to work oke now. i just can`t get the apache servers to work because of this:

"vi /etc/network/interfaces"
Code:
auto lo:0
iface lo:0 inet static
  address 192.168.0.105
  netmask 255.255.255.255
  pre-up sysctl -p > /dev/null
the file where i need to place it in doesn`t exist... nor does the directory /etc/network/...

i did yound out that you would probably have to use : /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-lo:0 to do these changes but than again i can`t get it working..

I`m running Fedora core 6 (4 times in vmware) all the loadbalancing tests that you describe in your howto are positive for me.. that network part is the last part that i need to get working... if i enter the ip`s of the webservers i`m just getting the defualt apache page (which is good) and not with 192.168.0.105.. though i can ping that ip.. but that`s probably because of the loadservers..

Any help would be gread.
Thanx alot anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18th January 2007, 20:27
markg85 markg85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

hmm.. i`ve just tested alot and first i had "could not connect" and after ALOT of testing i finally have another error :P now it`s : "connection timed out"

so it might not be that network problem i thought about earlyer.
help please.. and i`m still not getting ifcfg-lo:0 to work... as soon as i enable it i get unable to connect and i can`t even ping the server anymore (not the virtual ip but the server with the actual ip)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19th January 2007, 22:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I'm not sure how this pre-up stuff can be done on Fedora...
What's the output of
Code:
ls -la /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 7th May 2007, 12:43
omen omen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to omen Send a message via Yahoo to omen
 
Default

Hi Falko,

I'm running a multiple website but I'm willing to try .. just 1 question, how do I point the domain name? only to 1 ip or to both load balancer?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mod_mono apache 2.2 ColdDoT Server Operation 5 23rd May 2006 02:58
Problem with the installation of Dokeos (LMS) in ISPConfig jofranco General 4 28th April 2006 00:45
PHP/MySQL/Apache2/ISPConfig configuration issues? senzapaura General 21 25th December 2005 14:01
High Availability and clustering with ISPconfig jeanjacquesjeanjacques General 1 22nd November 2005 12:22
Apache 1.3 Support SleeperZ General 3 9th November 2005 11:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.