Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st September 2009, 14:45
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 75
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Default Server Monitoring With munin And monit On Debian Etch

I'd like to use that howto: http://howtoforge.com/server_monitor...it_debian_etch with ispcfg3 with a vhost running suPhp is that possible?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st September 2009, 17:28
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Yes, it is.
You only have to modify "htmldir" in Munin's configuration file to point to the appropriate directory and Apache part of Monit's configuration. Munin and Monit don't need php to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd September 2009, 08:47
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 75
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Default

the problem I had was with the part, where you chown the output folder munin:munin but I solved it by moving the output folder into the default vhost which doesn't run suphp.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd September 2009, 12:11
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

It doesn't matter where You move it as long as the above values indicate the correct directory.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd September 2009, 14:58
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 75
Thanked 22 Times in 18 Posts
Default

we seem not to understand each other: if I put it into a directory, within a vhost running suPhp and then chown it by munin, munin will write to it but apache will not be allowed to display it as suPhp wants a different owner:group than munin:munin

OR, and this just occured to me, being all html files, maybe it will work?

anyway, works now as I moved it into a non-suPhp vhost :-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd September 2009, 20:17
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
 
Default

That's right. Munin by default generates only html files.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Question] Server Monitoring With munin And monit On CentOS 5.2 staticanime HOWTO-Related Questions 3 3rd December 2008 16:20
Display error with Server Monitoring With munin fher98 HOWTO-Related Questions 6 2nd October 2007 14:44
ASSP hook for Server Monitoring With munin And monit Slicer HOWTO-Related Questions 2 19th December 2006 20:38
Server Monitoring With munin And monit kdclaver Installation/Configuration 3 14th December 2006 18:52
Server Monitoring With munin And monit - Page 2 Hans Server Operation 6 28th April 2006 16:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.