Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th September 2009, 16:08
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default Bug when change admin password

Hello to everybody,
I want just tell to the community that I found a bug in ISPConfig (3.0.0.3 and 3.0.0.4).
Basically, after the installation, I can enter in ISPConfig with admin/admin as username and password.
When I change the password (Tools->Password and Language) and after I log out, I can not enter anymore in ISPConfig.
A week ago a my colleague had a look to the code and discover that whas a problem with the encryption of the password.
He solve it, but now I've to reinstall everything and I'll have the same problem... and he's in holday now for next 2 weeks.
So, somebody have an idea how to fix this bug?

Thanks
Michele
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th September 2009, 13:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Please update to 3.0.1.4.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th September 2009, 10:59
voltron81 voltron81 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I' m sorry, but it's happening even with ISPConfig 3.0.1.4...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th September 2009, 17:02
mzerbe mzerbe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 14
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same issue with the 3.0.1.4 beta version.

There is a forum threat somewhere, that explains how to change the admin password by using phpmyadmin.

All you need are the credentials for the database, and knowledge (or an website) to create a new md5 password.


Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th September 2009, 11:37
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

Did you entered any special chars? I tested it several times now and I was not able to reproduce it yet. Maybe someone can send me a password that caused this beahviour on his server together with the used ispconfig and php and linux version as pm or to dev [at] ispconfig [dot] org so we get this fixed in the next release.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th September 2009, 11:58
mzerbe mzerbe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 14
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

in my case, the password was containing a single # at the end of the password, everything before Numbers and Normal characters.

Password length: 11 characters (and # was the 11th)


Hope that helps to found the root cause.

EDIT: Forgot to mention:

# uname -a
Linux 2.6.26-2-amd64 #1 SMP Fri Aug 14 07:12:04 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux

# cat /etc/debian_version
5.0.3

MySQL Server Version: 5.0.51a-24+lenny2
Apache 2.2.9
PHP version 5.2.6-1+lenny3
Locale en_US, de_DE, th_TH

ISPConfig 3.0.1.4 beta from SVN (At the time as that happened to me)

Last edited by mzerbe; 17th September 2009 at 14:48. Reason: added environment
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th September 2009, 15:38
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

I tested it on a current debian lenny install and I was not able to reproduce it here. the only difference that i see is that my system here is 32bit.

Please create a file:

/usr/local/ispconfig/interface/web/test.php

with the content:

Code:
<?php
if (CRYPT_MD5 == 1) {
    echo 'MD5:          ' . crypt('rasmuslerdorf', '$1$rasmusle$') . "\n";
}
?>
call it in the browser

http://yourserver:8080/test.php

and post the output. The output on my system is:

Code:
MD5: $1$rasmusle$rISCgZzpwk3UhDidwXvin0
Update:

I was able to test it also on a 64Bit CentOS 5.3 system now and changing the password worked there.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 24th September 2009 at 16:06.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th September 2009, 16:47
mzerbe mzerbe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 14
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No difference in OUTPUT:

Code:
MD5: $1$rasmusle$rISCgZzpwk3UhDidwXvin0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th October 2009, 12:51
xaver xaver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 77
Thanks: 10
Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
 
Default

Hi,

i had this problem too. But is long ago, i had trouble with my mysql-server (5.1) and i went back to 5.0.

If you use firefox try Tamper Data addon. It get every send Data between your pc and the Server. You can look into the informations. Maybe some problem by sending the password.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
change password problem from ISPConfig 3 acumen Installation/Configuration 16 1st October 2010 09:06
Password bug NIXin General 8 8th May 2008 15:08
Any way to change a lost admin password yurtboy1 Installation/Configuration 3 19th May 2007 14:39
Rename folder -> create new folder equals contents of old folder BlueStream General 20 15th December 2006 03:32
How to install BFD (Brute Force Detection) domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 9 31st March 2006 22:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.