Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th April 2006, 08:39
djtremors djtremors is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 278
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default Disabling DNS after it's enabled

Just noticed something when I enabled DNS (and MX) on a website. Once it's enabled, I can't disable the sites dns any more and the entries in /etc/named.conf and /var/named/chroot/var/named/pri.domain stick and never get removed.

Is that a bug, i searched "dns" and got nothing for some reason.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th April 2006, 12:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You can remove the DNS records in the DNS manager. The records where not removed automatically when you uncheck the checkbox because the DNS settings might contain other records that point to different servers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th April 2006, 12:57
djtremors djtremors is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 278
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

hmm.. the checkbox was misleading me then... I was hoping for a simple enable disable for the DNS but appears you have to delete it to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th April 2006, 13:00
djtremors djtremors is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 278
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
 
Default

Oh just noticed another thing. Once I delete the DNS, not only does it still appear with a checkbox next to the sites properties but also I can't recreate the DNS records via the site properties again.

I disable it, save it, reenable it, save it and I can't see it in DNS Manager or /etc/named.conf so I guess it has to be done manually after it's been deleted.

In DNS Manager, when the domain is also in the recycle bin and you create that same domain, it says it's created it with no errors but doesn't show. This is due to it being still in the recycle bin if your not noticing it like i did.. he he
I would've thought it should error that it's either in recycle bin or that the domain exists.

Last edited by djtremors; 30th April 2006 at 13:06.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-Mail Accounts with the Admin option enabled get "no subject and no sender" e-mails teleriddler General 7 3rd November 2007 02:05
Server sometimes (1 or 2 hrs) down :/ edge Server Operation 25 31st July 2006 14:44
tlsmgr webmail problem, suse 9.3 perfect setup dschmid Installation/Configuration 44 2nd April 2006 19:55
Problem recieving mail webstergd Installation/Configuration 19 16th December 2005 13:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.