Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th February 2009, 20:31
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig 3.0: Multiple Server Installation

Hi:

I am trying to figure something out - I have installed ISPConfig 3.0 on a server in my environment and have attempted to join another server to the primary system without much success thus far.

When I installed ISPConfig 3.0 on the second server I selected Expert mode and went through the process of configuring the host name, MySQL, etc. I chose [y]es when asked if this server shall join an existing ISPConfig multiserver setup. And then went on with the installation. At no point did it ask what the FQDN or IP address of the master system was - I don't know if one is supposed to fill in that sort of info during the installation.

Anyway, once the installation was complete, I went to the primary server and joined the new server to it under the System menu. The problem is however, that when I try to monitor the new server it returns nothing - it tells me that there is no data and to try again later.

So I guess that something must be wrong. If someone could help I would be really grateful, thank you.


Kind regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th February 2009, 22:12
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

The installer asks for the ip address or hostname of the external mysql server. Otherwise the server would not have been added to the menu on the master server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th February 2009, 22:42
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till:

Thank you for your reply.

The only place where it seemed to ask that was right at the beginning after the mode query - standard or expert. It then asked the server FQDN which was defaulted to the FQDN of the server I was installing. I don't think that it asked anywhere else, so maybe I messed up somewhere?


Regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th February 2009, 22:44
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I see my fault - I will try again.


Regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th February 2009, 22:11
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mentor View Post
I see my fault - I will try again.


Regards,

Mentor
Hi:

I have run through the install script and this where it goes wrong:


Shall this server join an existing ISPConfig multiserver setup (y,n) [n]: y
MySQL master server hostname []: amoeba4
MySQL master server root username [root]: ispconfig
MySQL master server root password []: ??????
MySQL master server database name [dbispconfig]:
Unable to connect to mysql server


If you could help I would be grateful, thank you.


Kind regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th February 2009, 22:16
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

You have to use the mysql root user as the installer suggests and not another user and make sure that the user root is able to connect from this server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th February 2009, 22:27
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till:

Thank you for replying to my query. I tried it, but it still gives me an unable to connect error - using the root user on the db server - is there a switch that needs to be enabled to allow remote access to the main db?

Kind regards,

Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th February 2009, 22:42
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

Then your master server is not configured correctly. You can use the "mysql" command to try to connect to the server and then fix the permissions on your master server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th February 2009, 23:51
Mentor Mentor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till:

Thanks for the help - we seem to be having some trouble with the MySQL connection. We will try again tomorrow. If you can point us in the direction of some documentation that would be great - we have the MySQL Admin Guide and have checked several websites - but additional resources may be useful.

Once again, thank you for your help!!


Kind regards,

Mentor.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th September 2009, 06:55
merlinv12 merlinv12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I know its a bit late after the initial post, but someone else may run into this problem and not know what to do. If you are adding another server to the primary master mysql server where ispconfig resides, you need to make sure that the ispconfig user and root user on the primary server have permission to receive connections from the new server. You can check this by first using telnet to see if mysql server is up "telnet <host address> 3306" if it connects, then try mysql command and see if you can connect. If not then user connection permission is your problem.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
installation, ispconfig 3.0, multiserver

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
ISPconfig 3.0 Server Mgmt Mentor General 3 6th April 2009 12:02
ispconfig 3 joining frontend Snowman General 1 28th June 2008 17:28
CentOS 5.1 - ISPConfig Installation completed but init.d/ispconfig_server not found?? tozden Installation/Configuration 1 15th May 2008 10:21


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.