Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th August 2005, 02:36
Bedevere Bedevere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Bedevere Send a message via MSN to Bedevere Send a message via Yahoo to Bedevere
Default WHere is the default domain's web page?

I have three domains, lets call them domain1.net, domain1.com and domain2.com - the first two are the same name with .net and .com...

So I want to make domain1.net the default domain, while domain1.com is a virtual domain set up within ISPconfig. Domain2.com is also setup with in ISP config and works fine by the way...

When I go to domain1.net I get the home page for domain1.com - the :81 part works fine all around it seems.

I want the .net to have it's own welcome page, but I don't see a dynamic link in the htdocs directory like I see for the others. Is there a way to fix this, or should I just make a link, and if so where to?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th August 2005, 10:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,715 Times in 2,557 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bedevere
I have three domains, lets call them domain1.net, domain1.com and domain2.com - the first two are the same name with .net and .com...

So I want to make domain1.net the default domain, while domain1.com is a virtual domain set up within ISPconfig. Domain2.com is also setup with in ISP config and works fine by the way...

When I go to domain1.net I get the home page for domain1.com - the :81 part works fine all around it seems.

I want the .net to have it's own welcome page, but I don't see a dynamic link in the htdocs directory like I see for the others. Is there a way to fix this, or should I just make a link, and if so where to?

Thanks!

If you want domain1.net to have it's own welcome page then you have to set up an own web site for that domain in ISPConfig. If it's only a Co-Domain for another web site then it doesn't have its own welcome page.

Quote:
When I go to domain1.net I get the home page for domain1.com - the :81 part works fine all around it seems.
What do you mean with that? The :81 is only for the ISPConfig web interface, not for normal web sites.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th August 2005, 15:50
Bedevere Bedevere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Bedevere Send a message via MSN to Bedevere Send a message via Yahoo to Bedevere
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
What do you mean with that? The :81 is only for the ISPConfig web interface, not for normal web sites.
I mean that the :81 redirection works great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If you want domain1.net to have it's own welcome page then you have to set up an own web site for that domain in ISPConfig. If it's only a Co-Domain for another web site then it doesn't have its own welcome page.
So I read this as I would have to create a domain like the others for domain1.net in the ISPConfig control panel like the other domains I already set up.

That would explain the missing entry in the virtual host settings, I just assumed something was set up for the default host. My bad.

Thanks for the clarity!

Just a quick followup - I have tried this on a test box and I have found that Mydomain.net, Mydomain.com and Mydomain.edu can all be set up as seperate web services complete with email. Nice job!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th August 2005, 18:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,715 Times in 2,557 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bedevere
So I read this as I would have to create a domain like the others for domain1.net in the ISPConfig control panel like the other domains I already set up.
One question: when you say "domain", do you mean domain, or do you mean web site? I think in this case you mean web site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th August 2005, 20:14
Bedevere Bedevere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Bedevere Send a message via MSN to Bedevere Send a message via Yahoo to Bedevere
 
Default

My bad, yes, web site, email and ftp.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to change the default port 81 ? Jugernaut Installation/Configuration 12 10th February 2010 14:09
Sending mails to remote domains is not working. nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 17 20th February 2006 20:27
Enable PHP in default directory ProTrooper Installation/Configuration 4 24th August 2005 18:26
Multiple domains jysse Installation/Configuration 2 10th August 2005 11:22
my default webserver failed Venkatesh.S General 1 25th July 2005 10:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.