Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th August 2009, 19:34
mbogh mbogh is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Remote access to DB does not work

Hey,

When i activate remote access for a DB nothing happens, I am still not able to access the db remotely.

The only firewall record is:
tcp/udp
20,21,22,25,53,80,110,143,443,3306,8080,10000 53,3306

Am I missing something?

-mbogh
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th August 2009, 21:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,794
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

You have to wait at least one minute, all changes are appliaed by a cronjob which runs once a minute.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th August 2009, 22:03
Franz Franz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cakovec
Posts: 120
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Franz
Default

did you enable in mysql to listen on all interfaces?
__________________
my PAGE
VoIP
my IT help blog
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th August 2009, 22:58
jon jon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to jon
Default

There is a bind-address line in your my.cnf (located in /etc/mysql/my.cnf on Debian). Usually it's set to 127.0.0.1 by default. I believe you can just comment that line out.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd September 2009, 10:58
Craig Craig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Consider yourself lucky that you won't have bots trying to dictionary or rainbow attack your database. Allowing remote access to a data base through an unsecured channel is not a good idea.

Instead, try something like http://www.howtoforge.com/secure_mys...ion_ssh_tunnel

That was written for connecting via MysqlAdministrator but the same concept can apply to just about anything you want to do, including talking from server to server.

If at all possible, ALWAYS go through an ssl tunnel so that all access is not only secured but local.

I should also add that remote access can be disabled depending on how one's grant table is populated. If a given user, or all users are only listed as using a local connection, including root, then no one can access remotely no matter what any other configuration you might have.
__________________
cass-hacks.com

Last edited by Craig; 2nd September 2009 at 11:00.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig on a RaQ2 mattm Installation/Configuration 12 23rd January 2008 19:17
Whats the simplest way to have a shared folder local and remote access steve1084 HOWTO-Related Questions 5 12th September 2007 05:03
Support Ticket and MySQL Remote Access Question lewis_saint Installation/Configuration 3 21st May 2007 00:56
Remote Access to ISPConfig on https roadster Installation/Configuration 5 27th April 2007 21:55
directories in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig renamed? Spudchat General 10 12th April 2007 20:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.