#1  
Old 22nd April 2006, 21:57
pizzipie pizzipie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default wifi using dial-up modem

Hi all,

I live in a remote area in Canada and, alas, I don't know if we will ever get broadband service. SO .. I have an older PC (1998) attached to an external modem.

I am in hopes that I can access the internet with the modem and thru the PC, via ethernet card, feed to a wireless router which i can then pass messages to a Dell 800 laptop running windows 2000 and Ununtu Breezy and an HP laptop running Ubuntu Breezy. I am currently running windows 98 and Mandrake 9.0 on the PC. I have two hard drives on it, one dedicated to Linux. I will replace Mandrake with Ubuntu Breezy. The fellow at Best Buy, where I got the below hardware, told me I could not accomplish tying all this together with windows 98.

I am new to linux and don't know where to start. I know enough to be dangerous!!

I have the ethernet card for the PC, the wireless router, and the PCMCIA cardsfor the HP. All Linksys equipment. I have the PCMCIA card for the Dell and it works fine on ethernet and wireless, now.


ANY help would be greatl appreciated.

Rick P.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd April 2006, 19:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I don't know if you can do it with Windows 98, but it should be possible with Mandrake 9.0. AFAIK Mandrake 9.0 comes with the Shorewall firewall that should be configurable in the way you want, maybe even using the Mandrake desktop, if it is installed.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th April 2006, 03:36
pizzipie pizzipie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Falko;

I don't plan to use Mandrake. I will install Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy. If I have to and will also use Windows 2000 on that machine.

Do you think this will work??

Thanks, RP

Last edited by pizzipie; 24th April 2006 at 03:39.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th April 2006, 10:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

If I remember right, Win2000 has some kind of internet connection sharing, so this might work.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Setup Behind a Router/Firewall/Cable Modem kisong Installation/Configuration 2 1st August 2010 18:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.