Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th May 2008, 21:27
amras86 amras86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Software RAID1 on a Running Debian System

Hey,

I recently tried the software RAID1 tutorial for Debian Etch on a virtual machine, it worked flawlessly. Now when I tried to implement it into a working environment with a real server and 2x80 GB SATA hard drives, the /boot and swap partitions synchronize properly, but when it do the root partition, I get an error saying that the device is busy or unavailable. I tried forcing it, unmounting and remounting it, nothing works. I've searched Google for people having the same problem and nobody can fix it for some reason, any ideas? Just something I think I should mention though I doubt it makes a difference, the hard drives are a Seagate and a Western Digital. I tried this with 2 20 GB Maxtors of the same model and still a no go.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th May 2008, 18:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Do you mean this tutorial? http://www.howtoforge.com/software-r...ot-debian-etch

At which step exactly are you facing this problem?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th May 2008, 20:42
amras86 amras86 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, thats the tutorial I am having trouble with. The particular section that I am talking about is in section 7, Preparing /dev/sda. Its these steps in particular,

Code:
mdadm --add /dev/md0 /dev/sda1
mdadm --add /dev/md1 /dev/sda2
mdadm --add /dev/md2 /dev/sda3
The first two commands work flawlessly and I can use the watch command to view the synchronization in progress, but when I do the sda3 command I get an error saying the device is busy or unavailable. Again I've search around Google with people with the same problem and it seems to be a serious problem. I've tried remounting, forcing the synchronization with the --force attribute.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2008, 16:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
fdisk -l
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th June 2008, 01:21
rodti rodti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 49
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi Falko,

Sorry to hijack an old thread but I'm having a similar problem with this how-to.

I have two partitions, a 2GB swap and a 150GB+ ext3 partition. I'm trying to make md0 (sda1+sdb1) and md1 (sda2+sdb2) respectively out of these.

Following the how-to I've managed to make a RAID1 md0 swap volume. Unfortunately I get the following error when attempting to add sda2 to md1:

Code:
root@lime:~# mdadm --add /dev/md1 /dev/sda2
mdadm: Cannot open /dev/sda2: Device or resource busy
Here is the output of /proc/mdstat:

Code:
root@lime:~# cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid5] [multipath] [raid6] 
md1 : active raid1 sdb2[1]
      154191744 blocks [2/1] [_U]
      
md0 : active raid1 sda1[0] sdb1[1]
      2096384 blocks [2/2] [UU]
And fdisk -l:

Code:
root@lime:~# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1         261     2096451   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sda2             262       19457   154191870   fd  Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1         261     2096451   fd  Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb2             262       19457   154191870   fd  Linux raid autodetect

Disk /dev/md0: 2146 MB, 2146697216 bytes
2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 524096 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 8 * 512 = 4096 bytes

Disk /dev/md0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/md1: 157.8 GB, 157892345856 bytes
2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 38547936 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 8 * 512 = 4096 bytes

Disk /dev/md1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
Any help appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th June 2008, 23:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Did you boot the system from /dev/sdb or /dev/sda? Should be /dev/sdb.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th July 2009, 15:59
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Hi,

I'm having the same problem.
After installing CentOS there's almost nothing I can do with my arrays.
I always get:
Quote:
mdadm: cannot open /dev/sda1: Device or resource busy
Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th July 2009, 11:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Is it possible that the system is currently running on /dev/sda1?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th July 2009, 11:10
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Yes it is but I get the same error for /dev/md1 and /dev/md2.
Booting from CentOS DVD (by entering linux rescue) doesn't actually help. Everything remains the same.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th July 2009, 18:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

What's the output of
Code:
mount
when the system is running on md1 and md2?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: How To Set Up Software RAID1 On A Running System (Debian Etch) ClarkVent HOWTO-Related Questions 9 20th March 2008 23:54
Grub and Software RAID1 WaveQam Installation/Configuration 1 6th December 2007 15:40
Installing Debian Etch From a Windows System - Error bluegrass Installation/Configuration 2 24th October 2007 07:28
Bind Failed christoph2k HOWTO-Related Questions 4 28th April 2007 00:57
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.