#1  
Old 21st April 2006, 23:01
eldaria eldaria is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Some Questions on DNS.

Hi All,

I'm fairly new on this with running my own linux server, so don't kill me. :-)

This question might have been answered before but the search does not let me search on DNS.

I have currently a Windows server running on my DSL(16/1Mbit), and it is serving one of my domains with web, mail, and sql mostly for myself, but also some friends and family. This server is just running 1 domain.

Now I have been offered to hook on the server to a 10/10Mbit connection, and wanted to move my other domains that are hosted with a provider to my own server, mostly to be able to create as many subdomains as I want and as much space as I want.
So I set up a Debian server with the help of the guide.

I have 5 Domains in total.

My question is then, how does this work when it comes to create DNS records?
I only have 1 IP available towards the internet.
Do I need to configure a DNS record at my hosting provider for each domain to point MX and A records towards my server, and then the server will figure it out, or do I need somekind of dns service out there to do it for me or how does it work?

If I need a DNS provider, does any one have a suggestion of a good one, not to expensive preferably located in Europe, and how would I set it up?

Regards.
Brian.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd April 2006, 16:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldaria
My question is then, how does this work when it comes to create DNS records?
I only have 1 IP available towards the internet.
Do I need to configure a DNS record at my hosting provider for each domain to point MX and A records towards my server, and then the server will figure it out, or do I need somekind of dns service out there to do it for me or how does it work?
You must find out the authoritative name servers for your domains and then change the DNS records on these name servers.

You can find out the name servers by running
Code:
dig ns example.com
BTW, I hope you have a static IP address?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd April 2006, 16:34
eldaria eldaria is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for responding.

ok, so it shows that 3 of my Domains are with speednames.com, and the 2 other are with my Hosting Provider surftown.net.

With speednames I can change the Name server, and the other I only have access to configure DNS records.

So should I just point the A and MX records toward my IP or do I need to change the name server to be my server?
If the Latter, I need to specify 2 name servers, but I only have 1 IP?

And yes I have fixed IP, My Windows server has been hosting my website for some years now, only changed IP 1 time, and that was when I changed DSL provider. :-)
And the New Location will also have fixed IP, just better bandwith. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd April 2006, 19:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldaria
So should I just point the A and MX records toward my IP
Do this, it's the easiest solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldaria
And yes I have fixed IP, My Windows server has been hosting my website for some years now, only changed IP 1 time, and that was when I changed DSL provider. :-)
And the New Location will also have fixed IP, just better bandwith. :-)
That's good!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd April 2006, 19:52
eldaria eldaria is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ok thanks. :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hostname & DNS questions... SurfingAlien Installation/Configuration 6 16th October 2007 16:32
questions about installation options Praude Installation/Configuration 2 21st March 2006 21:40
2 Questions ;) Jordy General 2 27th January 2006 18:56
Few questions about Fedora core 4 perfect setup + mantasman HOWTO-Related Questions 3 9th January 2006 22:22
postfix questions Ovidiu Server Operation 1 23rd October 2005 13:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.