Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st August 2009, 21:23
JACOBKELL JACOBKELL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to assign ip to virtual machine on cent os xen host machine?

I used this tutorial:
http://www.howtoforge.com/paravirtua...tos-5.3-x86_64
to install xen,but when i tried dhcp or manualy enter ip during installation of guest cent os machine,i get message no such site which i think probably means ip address which i entered didn't been accepted and it cannot connect to internet.Do i maybe first need to remove desired ip adress from host machine or is there something else to configure?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd August 2009, 15:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

The IP you want to use must not be configured anywhere else, e.g. on the host.
Do you have a DHCP server in your network?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2009, 15:09
JACOBKELL JACOBKELL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
The IP you want to use must not be configured anywhere else, e.g. on the host.
Do you have a DHCP server in your network?
I host on softlayer resseler,so i guess yes.I just ordered block of new ip's(4 new ip's)which i didn't added yet on host machine.Should i try now simply to add one of those new ip adress to guest machine?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2009, 12:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Yes, try that.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd August 2009, 17:51
JACOBKELL JACOBKELL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nop still cannot find.
I find this about virtual machines on softlayer:
http://knowledgelayer.softlayer.com/...able+IP+blocks
Maybe i need to assign entire block of ip to virtual machine?
And this is what i added now:
|IPv4 address: freeipadress___ / 255.255.255.0___ |
|Gateway: ____________________________ |
|Name Server: 10.0.80.11,10.0.80.12
I going to install iso from disk,so i can at least have prepared virtual machine.But it seems even then it is required
to define source of iso,what to select,cdrom,hard disk,nsf,http or ftp?

Last edited by JACOBKELL; 23rd August 2009 at 18:35.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th August 2009, 19:57
JACOBKELL JACOBKELL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I found tutorial on softlayer(my host)for installing xen server and it seems it required a lot of network configuration edit.Can i send it to you so you can see it?There are some things which i don't understood there.

Last edited by JACOBKELL; 24th August 2009 at 22:04.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th August 2009, 14:18
matey matey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 93
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

they way I did it was to mount the xen FS onto /mnt/ then chroot to it then set name, root password and edit /etc/network/interfaces and do
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 10.0.52.110
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 10.0.52.0
broadcast 10.0.52.255
gateway 10.0.52.1

or something like that. then exit, umount then edit my xen config file /etc/xen/ and make sure I give it a virtual NIC
there are couple of ways that I know of, one is to use vif and the other to give it a MAC address then IP.

The thing I also do is when I chroot to /mnt/xenmachine/
I set root password the Same as the main machine's root just in case.
then you can change once boot up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XEN virtual machine bravo Installation/Configuration 1 10th June 2009 17:23
smtp is error!!! fhawk Installation/Configuration 2 7th April 2009 14:17
Postfix problem: lost connection after CONNECT from unknown fernando_torrez Server Operation 5 30th November 2007 15:17
This is %#@*&^$# embarrassing! domino Smalltalk 34 5th February 2007 22:57
Problem setting up LVS (load-balancer, linux virtual server) in Xen Virtual Machine cifroes Server Operation 1 7th November 2006 17:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.