Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th August 2009, 07:27
treeman treeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Can somebody help me getting Bind to work on Centos 5?

I have set up bind on a centos 5 box on my network to act as a dns for my domain.
Bind is installed and starting ok.

This is my setup:

WAN "mywanip" -> ROUTER -> NAT:53 -> Centos 5 "192.168.0.28"
When i use online port checking tools it shows as connection successfull on port 53 WAN ip so I am assuming there is no problem there.

Domain.com -> Nameserver = "mywanip"

when I "ping" Domain.com I get reply from "mywanip"

when I "host" Domian.com I get :
Domain.com has address "mywanip"
Host Domain.com not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host Domain.com not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

when I "host" Domian.com from Centos5 box I get:
Domain.com has address "mywanip"
Host Domain.com not found: 2(SERVFAIL)
Host Domain.com not found: 2(SERVFAIL)

I am still new to Bind so I am guessing its my zone files that are not right, altho I have experimented with a few configurations that I found in tutorials but this is the furthest I can get.

Here is a copy of my named.conf and zone files:

Quote:
//
// Sample named.conf BIND DNS server 'named' configuration file
// for the Red Hat BIND distribution.
//
// See the BIND Administrator's Reference Manual (ARM) for details, in:
// file:///usr/share/doc/bind-*/arm/Bv9ARM.html
// Also see the BIND Configuration GUI : /usr/bin/system-config-bind and
// its manual.
//

options
{
// Those options should be used carefully because they disable port
// randomization
query-source port 53;
// query-source-v6 port 53;

// Put files that named is allowed to write in the data/ directory:
directory "/var/named"; // the default
dump-file "data/cache_dump.db";
statistics-file "data/named_stats.txt";
memstatistics-file "data/named_mem_stats.txt";
#added
# listen-on port 53 { All; };

#added

};
logging
{
/* If you want to enable debugging, eg. using the 'rndc trace' command,
* named will try to write the 'named.run' file in the $directory (/var/named).
* By default, SELinux policy does not allow named to modify the /var/named directory,
* so put the default debug log file in data/ :
*/
channel default_debug {
file "data/named.run";
severity dynamic;
};
};
//
// All BIND 9 zones are in a "view", which allow different zones to be served
// to different types of client addresses, and for options to be set for groups
// of zones.
//
// By default, if named.conf contains no "view" clauses, all zones are in the
//
// By default, if named.conf contains no "view" clauses, all zones are in the
// "default" view, which matches all clients.
//
// If named.conf contains any "view" clause, then all zones MUST be in a view;
// so it is recommended to start off using views to avoid having to restructure
// your configuration files in the future.
//
view "localhost_resolver"
{
/* This view sets up named to be a localhost resolver ( caching only nameserver ).
* If all you want is a caching-only nameserver, then you need only define this view:
*/
match-clients { localhost; };
match-destinations { localhost; };
recursion yes;
# all views must contain the root hints zone:
include "/etc/named.root.hints";

/* these are zones that contain definitions for all the localhost

/* these are zones that contain definitions for all the localhost
* names and addresses, as recommended in RFC1912 - these names should
* ONLY be served to localhost clients:
*/
include "/etc/named.rfc1912.zones";
};
view "internal"
{
/* This view will contain zones you want to serve only to "internal" clients
that connect via your directly attached LAN interfaces - "localnets" .
*/
match-clients { localnets; };
match-destinations { localnets; };
recursion yes;
// all views must contain the root hints zone:
include "/etc/named.root.hints";

// include "named.rfc1912.zones";
// you should not serve your rfc1912 names to non-localhost clients.

// These are your "authoritative" internal zones, and would probably
// also be included in the "localhost_resolver" view above :

zone "my.internal.zone" {

zone "my.internal.zone" {
type master;
file "de.com.zone";
};
zone "my.slave.internal.zone" {
type slave;
file "slaves/my.slave.internal.zone.db";
masters { /* put master nameserver IPs here */ 127.0.0.1; } ;
// put slave zones in the slaves/ directory so named can update them
};
zone "my.ddns.internal.zone" {
type master;
allow-update { key ddns_key; };
file "slaves/my.ddns.internal.zone.db";
// put dynamically updateable zones in the slaves/ directory so named can update them
};
};
key ddns_key
{
algorithm hmac-md5;
secret "PGKgJj2I9NVUSvcglyiAol8uy82rAIVZ0o0DPtgghucybko52 3LaUHba4tMA";
};
secret "PGKgJj2I9NVUSvcglyiAol8uy82rAIVZ0o0DPtgghucybko52 3LaUHba4tMA";
};
view "external"
{
/* This view will contain zones you want to serve only to "external" clients
* that have addresses that are not on your directly attached LAN interface subnets:
*/
match-clients { any; };
match-destinations { any; };

recursion no;
// you'd probably want to deny recursion to external clients, so you don't
// end up providing free DNS service to all takers

// all views must contain the root hints zone:
include "/etc/named.root.hints";

// These are your "authoritative" external zones, and would probably
// contain entries for just your web and mail servers:

zone "de.external.com.zone" {
type master;
file "de.external.com.zone";
type master;
file "de.external.com.zone";
};
};

Quote:
de.com.zone
@ in soa localhost. root 1 3H 15M 1W 1D
ns localhost.

domain.com IN NS ns1.domain.com.
domain.com IN NS ns2.domain.com.
ns1 IN A 127.0.0.1
ns2 IN A 127.0.0.1

domain.com.com. IN A 192.168.0.28
localhost.domain.com. IN A 192.168.0.28
test.domain.com. IN A 192.168.0.39
web.domain.com. IN CNAME "some external link"
www IN CNAME domain.com.

Quote:
de.external.com.zone
@ in soa "mywanip". root 1 3H 15M 1W 1D
ns "mywanip".

domain.com IN NS ns1.domain.com.
domain.com IN NS ns2.domain.com.
ns1 IN A "mywanip"
ns2 IN A "mywanip"
domain.com. IN A "mywanip"
localhost.domain.com. IN A "mywanip"
test.domain.com. IN A "mywanip"
web.domain. IN CNAME "someexternallink"
www IN CNAME domain.

Any tips or observations would be helpfull, thank you
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th August 2009, 11:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Code:
domain.com IN NS ns1.domain.com.
domain.com IN NS ns2.domain.com.
must be
Code:
domain.com. IN NS ns1.domain.com.
domain.com. IN NS ns2.domain.com.
Did you check your zone on www.intodns.com ?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th August 2009, 15:49
treeman treeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I tried that but still same result. I got the following errors from the dns report

Quote:
NS records from your nameservers NS records got from your nameservers listed at the parent NS are:
Oups! I could not get any nameservers from your nameservers (the ones listed at the parent server). Please verify that they are not lame nameservers and are configured properly.
Quote:
Mismatched NS records WARNING: One or more of your nameservers did not return any of your NS records.
Quote:
Multiple Nameservers ERROR: Looks like you have less than 2 nameservers. According to RFC2182 section 5 you must have at least 3 nameservers, and no more than 7. Having 2 nameservers is also ok by me.
Quote:
Nameservers are lame ERROR: looks like you have lame nameservers. The following nameservers are lame:
wanip
Quote:
Missing nameservers reported by your nameservers You should already know that your NS records at your nameservers are missing, so here it is again:

mydomain.com.
Quote:
SOA record No valid SOA record came back!
Quote:
WWW A Record ERROR: I could not get any A records for mydomain.com!

(I only do a cache request, if you recently added a WWW A record, it might not show up here.)
Is there anything else to look at except named.conf and zone files?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th August 2009, 19:36
treeman treeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

It just occoured to me that my port 80 is being blocked by my isp. But I am not trying to host a web page, just testing and learning DNS, would the ns record get blocked by the port 80 block? Port 53 is not blocked and forwarded through my router to correct internal IP

Update: I tried with the centos 5 box off and i got

;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

With the centos 5 box on i got

Host domain.com not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)
Host domain.com not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

So i guess its getting through just the zone file not working properly

Last edited by treeman; 15th August 2009 at 04:07.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th August 2009, 13:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

If you want to host the domain.com zone on ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com, you also need a glue record: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_...d_glue_records
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th August 2009, 01:52
treeman treeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Is there any way to do it without setting a glue record? I just want to set up a simple basic dns that will work with my domain.

I went through alot of guides for bind on centos and none mentioned glue records
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th August 2009, 14:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

If you don't want to create a glue record, you must host the domain.com zone on name servers that don't use domain.com in their hostname (i.e., instead of ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com use ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th August 2009, 07:20
treeman treeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

sorry but I am not sure what to use for "example" in ns1.example
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st August 2009, 15:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Any domain other than domain.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th August 2009, 01:37
treeman treeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Hi, thanx for trying to help, I am still stuck so I must be doing something wrong with the basics or my whole understanding of dns. So i got myself a book apress - pro dns and bind and im going to start from scratch, thanx for your help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu Hardy chrooted bind9 fails to start Djamu Server Operation 35 21st April 2010 08:28
Centos 5.2 + ISPConfig 3 tutorial - Problem with email tanakskool Server Operation 1 3rd June 2009 16:22
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 02:01
ISPConfig and BIND on Debian sarge (rfc1912 : failed on zonecheck) arnaud Installation/Configuration 13 6th March 2007 12:40
Bind-Chroot-Howto (Debian) spaz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 9th March 2006 14:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.