#1  
Old 9th August 2009, 01:20
av1611 av1611 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default WiFi

Hi

I have a Mint7 setup that acts as DHCP server for my network. I want to eliminate my crappy Netgear WAP.

I have a WiFi Card that I want to use in place of the WAP.

Currently, the system is at 192.168.100.101 and the Gateway is 192.168.100.1

DHCP serves to the clients and works fine on the LAN.

If I add the WiFi card, is it as simple as giving it a static IP like say 192.168.100.250 then set it in adhoc mode?

Question 1: Is that all I have to do?
Question 2: If so, how do I put the card in "Ad Hoc" mode?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th August 2009, 23:40
av1611 av1611 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ok, I've been reading and can someone tell me if this will work???

I have 2 NIC's in a box. One of them is external and doesn't matter for this question I don't think.

The other NIC is 192.168.100.3. It hosts an iSCSI Target and SMB Share on my LAN. It's works great.

I have another PC that has NIC at 192.168.100.101 and it hosts my DHCP (Scope: 192.168.100.5-25) server for my LAN.

I have a hardware firewall at 192.168.100.1 and it serves inet to the LAN on a different external connection.

So...

I currently have a WAP (cheap p.o.s. netgear router in WAP mode that keeps overheating). I want to eliminate the WAP device and add a WiFi NIC to the Top PC above.

So, on the first system I would have:

NIC 1: External IP and External Gateway
NIC 2: Static IP 192.168.100.3
Proposed WiFi NIC 3: Static 192.168.100.4

Question:

If I bridge NIC 2 and NIC 3 like this:

# brctl addbr br0
# brctl addif br0 eth0
# brctl addif br0 eth1

Then I simply put the WiFi in Ad Hoc, will another WiFi in Ad Hoc (for example my laptop) be able to "see" 192.168.100.101 (DHCP) & 192.168.100.1 (Gateway) (via WiFI 192.168.100.4 through the bridge to 192.168.100.3 and on to the LAN)?

Also, can the two NIC's be bridge together even though they are the SAME subnet?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th August 2009, 05:48
av1611 av1611 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Well

I got this working... kinda...

brctl addbr br0
brctl addif br0 eth2
brctl addif br0 wlan0
ifconfig eth2 0.0.0.0 promisc
ifconfig wlan0 0.0.0.0 promisc
ifconfig br0 192.168.100.3 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-wlan0:

TYPE=Wireless
MODE=Ad-Hoc
ESSID=MYSSID
//snip

I am able to connect with my laptop in Linux or Windows and surf the net and my LAN.
******************
Question 1:
I have to create the server every time I boot. How can I make this permanent?

Question 2:
There is no form of security on the ad-hoc. That's bad. I'd either like to not broadcast the ssid or if that's not an option then I'd like to encrypt it. Can someone show me how?

Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2009, 19:39
av1611 av1611 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

If anyone cares I got this mostly working except some security issues. I documented the answer here:

http://tranquilpenguin.com/wordpress/?p=175
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to av1611 For This Useful Post:
falko (11th August 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which wifi adapter works with Ubuntu 8.04 out of the box? mcardo Technical 2 23rd October 2008 20:40
WiFi Hotspot (FreeRadius & PHPMyPrepaid) DVS Suggest HOWTO 3 7th October 2007 12:50
WIFI in Ubuntu jibran HOWTO-Related Questions 3 20th August 2007 19:45
LAN and/or WiFi bandwidth Monitoring and authentication DVS Suggest HOWTO 2 1st November 2006 19:55
wifi using dial-up modem pizzipie HOWTO-Related Questions 3 24th April 2006 10:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.