Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 16th September 2009, 21:34
atjensen11 atjensen11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 199
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I recently reconfigured my system. I no longer use dkimproxy. Instead, I configured amavis-new to perform the DKIM signatures. It was pretty easy to do and removes one hop from email processing. Some reports I read claim that server utilization is much lower using amavis-new rather than dkimproxy as well.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 20th September 2010, 11:16
vlados vlados is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same problem. I cannot use the TXT record.
I added and removed it few times, but it just didnt show in the info:

Code:
root@server1:~# dig @localhost txt netlabs.bg

; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> @localhost txt netlabs.bg
; (2 servers found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 5344
;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;netlabs.bg.                    IN      TXT

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
netlabs.bg.             86400   IN      SOA     ns1.netlabs.bg. support.netlabs.bg. 2010092002 28800 7200 604800 86400

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Mon Sep 20 11:14:10 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 76

root@server1:~#
Code:
mysql> select * from dns_rr where type like 'txt';
+-----+------------+-------------+---------------+----------------+----------------+-----------+------+-----------------+------+----------------------
+-----+-------+--------+---------------------+------------+
| id  | sys_userid | sys_groupid | sys_perm_user | sys_perm_group | sys_perm_other | server_id | zone | name            | type | data
| aux | ttl   | active | stamp               | serial     |
+-----+------------+-------------+---------------+----------------+----------------+-----------+------+-----------------+------+----------------------
+-----+-------+--------+---------------------+------------+
| 124 |          1 |           0 | riud          | riud           |                |         1 |    1 | mail.netlabs.bg | TXT  | v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all
|   0 | 86400 | Y      | 2010-09-20 10:59:27 | 2010092001 |
| 123 |          1 |           0 | riud          | riud           |                |         1 |    1 | netlabs.bg      | TXT  | v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all
|   0 | 86400 | Y      | 2010-09-20 10:59:02 | 2010092001 |
+-----+------------+-------------+---------------+----------------+----------------+-----------+------+-----------------+------+----------------------
+-----+-------+--------+---------------------+------------+
2 rows in set (0.00 sec)
Using ISPConfig 3.0.2.2
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st September 2010, 19:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You must use dots at the end of the hostnames, e.g.

mail.netlabs.bg.
netlabs.bg.

Also, please put the TXT record in quotation marks, e.g.

Code:
"v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all"
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd May 2011, 04:33
defconjuan defconjuan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Spf txt

FALKO - quick question:

When I use quotes in the ISPConfig > DNS > Zones page, my /etc/bind/pri.domain.tld file TXT entry looks like this:
Code:
""v=spf1 +a +mx ~all""
(note the double quotes) When I remove them from the ISPConfig form, then it looks like:
Code:
"v=spf1 +a +mx ~all"
Your post and the ISPConfig 3 manual (as of May 2011) both say to use quotes when defining TXT records in ISPConfig. This seems wrong no?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22nd May 2011, 04:46
defconjuan defconjuan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

For example, this is my default template:

Code:
[ZONE]
origin={DOMAIN}.
ns={NS1}.
mbox={EMAIL}.
refresh=28800
retry=7200
expire=604800
minimum=86400
ttl=86400

[DNS_RECORDS]
A|{DOMAIN}.|{IP}|0|1800
A|*|{IP}|0|1800
A|mail|{IP}|0|1800
A|www|{IP}|0|1800

CNAME|ftp|{DOMAIN}.|0|1800
CNAME|phpmyadmin|{DOMAIN}.|0|1800
CNAME|webmail|{DOMAIN}.|0|1800
NS|{DOMAIN}.|{NS1}.|0|1800
NS|{DOMAIN}.|{NS2}.|0|1800
MX|{DOMAIN}.|mail.{DOMAIN}.|10|1800
TXT|{DOMAIN}.|v=spf1 +a +mx ~all|0|1800
This returns a glowing report from http://intodns.com/domain.tld

The subtle variations (e.g. using A instead of CNAME for the www and mail records).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19th December 2012, 14:31
Davide Davide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 123
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defconjuan View Post
FALKO - quick question:

When I use quotes in the ISPConfig > DNS > Zones page, my /etc/bind/pri.domain.tld file TXT entry looks like this:
Code:
""v=spf1 +a +mx ~all""
(note the double quotes) When I remove them from the ISPConfig form, then it looks like:
Code:
"v=spf1 +a +mx ~all"
Your post and the ISPConfig 3 manual (as of May 2011) both say to use quotes when defining TXT records in ISPConfig. This seems wrong no?
I know this is an 1.5 years old thread, but I'm having the same problem. Double quotes.

Is this correct at all?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19th December 2012, 14:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,495
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,534 Times in 4,352 Posts
Default

SPF records have to be added without quotes as ispconfig adds the quots automatically. I just checked this in the sources of the manual and the manual version that gets released for ispconfig 3.0.5 in january says to add them without quotes as well.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28th January 2013, 20:43
Davide Davide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 123
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I've updated all SPF TXT in dns_rr with the following sql

Code:
update dns_rr set data = replace (data,'"','') where type="TXT" and data like '"%"';
Query OK, 212 rows affected (0.01 sec)
Rows matched: 212  Changed: 212  Warnings: 0
How can I tigger ispconfig to rewrite all zone files?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28th January 2013, 21:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,495
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,534 Times in 4,352 Posts
 
Default

See tools > resync
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Davide (29th January 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.0.8 RC1 released till General 92 22nd February 2010 10:52
ISPConfig 3.0.0.9 RC2 released till General 51 17th April 2009 18:12
ISPConfig 3.0.0.7 Beta released till General 78 24th December 2008 12:47
ISPconfig has stopped working ilchubby General 5 21st November 2008 17:59
ISPConfig Roadmap till Developers' Forum 26 10th June 2007 23:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.