Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th April 2006, 00:43
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default Change document root ftp from / to web - how?

I would like to change the document root for the ftp clients from "/" to "/web".

In /proftpd.conf I find this entry:

Quote:
DefaultRoot ~
Is it possibly to change it to "/web" so that the client can't change and see the .spamassassin, maildir etc. directory?

tom
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th April 2006, 17:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

You can try
Code:
DefaultRoot ~/web
Restart Proftpd afterwards.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th April 2006, 18:13
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You can try
Code:
DefaultRoot ~/web
Restart Proftpd afterwards.
I've already tried to do that but it didn't work.

tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st April 2006, 10:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,704
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

Have you asked the guys at the proftpd mailing list, if such a DefaultRoot string is supported?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st April 2006, 10:23
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Have you asked the guys at the proftpd mailing list, if such a DefaultRoot string is supported?
No, but I will do it :-)

tom
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st April 2006, 11:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

According to this it should be supported: http://chronos.cs.msu.su/proftpd/Con...ml#DefaultRoot

Did you restart proftpd?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st April 2006, 12:54
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
According to this it should be supported: http://chronos.cs.msu.su/proftpd/Con...ml#DefaultRoot

Did you restart proftpd?
sure, I did

tom
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st April 2006, 17:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

And what exactly happens when you use
Code:
DefaultRoot ~/web
? Any error messages?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st April 2006, 21:53
rykoala rykoala is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Wouldn't you just change their home directory in /etc/passwd? That's what I've done in the past on my other servers, but I'm brand new to ISPConfig so maybe it wouldn't like that. I don't see why it wouldn't work though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd April 2006, 16:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

Don't do it! It wil break dependencies, for example your users' procmail recipes won't work anymore!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Clockwork Orange, or Tick-Tock Trouble... Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 12 17th April 2006 18:41
Problems installing NForce4 sound drivers Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 21 16th April 2006 17:30
Xen compile kernel qiu HOWTO-Related Questions 10 14th April 2006 18:24
cannot connect to ispconfig guidovanh Installation/Configuration 22 3rd March 2006 19:52
Everything owned by root !!! wwparrish Installation/Configuration 6 7th February 2006 21:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.