Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th May 2008, 19:35
thebigtime thebigtime is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Bind Keeps Crashing, No Dns Resolution

Hi,

This is my first time setting up a server so bare with me it its a real simple issue.

1. I followed the perfect server guide for Ubuntu 8.04. For some reason the bind server crashed a few times in a couple days. I read somewhere that it could be apparmor but I purged it from the system and BIND still fails to start.

I get the following error in the syslog.

"server1 named:[6907] loading configuration: failure
server1 named:[6907] exiting (due to fatal error)"


2. When its online, its not resolving domains properly. If I type the IP it brings me to the shared IP notification of ISPConfig. But if I type in the domain name (which is pointing to my external IP address) its says server cannot be reached.

The server is behind a router so I port forwarded HTTP, FTP, and DNS (TCP/UDP) to the LAN address.

Any ideas to get this to work would be a great help.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th May 2008, 16:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigtime
Hi,

This is my first time setting up a server so bare with me it its a real simple issue.

1. I followed the perfect server guide for Ubuntu 8.04. For some reason the bind server crashed a few times in a couple days. I read somewhere that it could be apparmor but I purged it from the system and BIND still fails to start.

I get the following error in the syslog.

"server1 named:[6907] loading configuration: failure
server1 named:[6907] exiting (due to fatal error)"
What's in /etc/bind/named.conf? Do you get any errors when you restart BIND manually on the shell?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigtime
2. When its online, its not resolving domains properly. If I type the IP it brings me to the shared IP notification of ISPConfig. But if I type in the domain name (which is pointing to my external IP address) its says server cannot be reached.
Is the domain hosted on the not-working BIND, or on another DNS server (e.g. the DNS servers of your registrar)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th May 2008, 18:27
thebigtime thebigtime is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have not touched the /etc/bind/named.conf file, so its just whats in it as default. Sorry I don't know how to copy and paste from the shell to windows.

The domains are pointing to the malfunctioning BIND server (my external IP which is port forwarded to the IP of my Ubuntu on the LAN). But after I reinstalled BIND it has been working for the past day without stopping. ISPConfig says it online. The only thing is my domain is still not resolving. Its interesting because I log into ISPConfig from my external IP adress at port 81 and it shows up, but my domain that I have pointing to my external IP address is not resolving.

If you wanted to host domains on your own server, what are the things that must be done? ex. pointing domain to IP adress, port forwading if behind router, and any BIND configurations.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th May 2008, 21:10
giganet giganet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 243
Thanks: 116
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to giganet
Default

Code:
Sorry I don't know how to copy and paste from the shell to windows.
Left click your mouse and drag to highlite the desired content, now use 'ctrl c' that should copy any content from CLI..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th May 2008, 19:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigtime
I have not touched the /etc/bind/named.conf file, so its just whats in it as default. Sorry I don't know how to copy and paste from the shell to windows.

The domains are pointing to the malfunctioning BIND server (my external IP which is port forwarded to the IP of my Ubuntu on the LAN). But after I reinstalled BIND it has been working for the past day without stopping. ISPConfig says it online. The only thing is my domain is still not resolving. Its interesting because I log into ISPConfig from my external IP adress at port 81 and it shows up, but my domain that I have pointing to my external IP address is not resolving.

If you wanted to host domains on your own server, what are the things that must be done? ex. pointing domain to IP adress, port forwading if behind router, and any BIND configurations.
Can you post the domain name so that I can do a test?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
ISPConfig and BIND on Debian sarge (rfc1912 : failed on zonecheck) arnaud Installation/Configuration 13 6th March 2007 12:40
Bind-Chroot-Howto (Debian) spaz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 9th March 2006 14:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.