Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th July 2009, 19:28
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Question Questions: Multisite (Drupal), Forwarding, SSL, ISPConfig

Hello. I have searched and found some related but not exact answers. I would appreciate any help.

o Using HowToForge Drupal/ISPConfig Multisite (not relevant, but running on Debian on VMware Server)
o Working fine so far (very new with Drupal, so just learning)

1) How can I get two (or more) domains to go to the same site properly? (i.e., multisite using ONE ip)
i.e.,
www.domain1.tld
www.domain2.tld
www.domain3.tld

Need all of them to go to www.domain1.tld (don't mind/care if it rewrites/redirects).

Example: I often register www.domain.com, www.domain.net, www.domain.org, etc. and just want them all to go to www.domain.com on the HowToForge ISPConfig/Drupal setup. And, would strongly prefer if this could be done via ISPConfig interface and not via manual editing of config files.

So far I have tried the "Co-Domains" with "Forwarding" (of the 2nd domain to the 1st domain), but I keep getting:
"This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.
For questions or problems please contact the server administrator."



2) Is it possible to have ALL of the ISPConfig/Drupal sites SSL-enabled? How? Can they all have separate certificates from each other and their ISPConfig parent? Can they use Certificate(s) from a commercial CA and do this?


Thank you in advance for any feedback or help.

Last edited by tester321; 27th July 2009 at 19:45.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th July 2009, 09:23
AlArenal AlArenal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 104
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I'd also like to know..

Right now my machines are all using ISPC2. For a new client and his specific needs I'd need the ability to run a Drupal multisite instance for several sub-clients, some even using SSL. So we have several domains pointing to one web, some with own IP addresses as required by SSL / Apache and would need to manage mails per domain without getting different sub-clients mixed-up.

As I haven't used ISPC3 yet I'd like to know whether this would work, before I send my client an offer sheet..

Thanks,
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th July 2009, 10:49
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlArenal View Post
I'd also like to know..

Right now my machines are all using ISPC2. For a new client and his specific needs I'd need the ability to run a Drupal multisite instance for several sub-clients, some even using SSL. So we have several domains pointing to one web, some with own IP addresses as required by SSL / Apache and would need to manage mails per domain without getting different sub-clients mixed-up.

As I haven't used ISPC3 yet I'd like to know whether this would work, before I send my client an offer sheet..

Thanks,
Alex
Alex: I was able to figure out the answer to my first question (ISPConfig domain redirection)

1) To have, for example, www.domain.net/org/info/biz redirect to www.domain.com

o Define www.domain.com as a Site in ISPConfig
o Click "Co-Domains" Tab
o Click New
o Put www in the the "Hostname" field (I have NOT been able to get this to work by leaving this blank; i.e., so that *.example.com would redirect)
o Put domain.tld into the "Domains" field
o Click "Forward" Tab
o Put http://www.domain.com (or any site you want to redirect to) into the "Forward" field

- FYI, in my case all the domains point to the same IP as I am doing multisite via a single IP; so it sends users to the proper site based on url/dns name used to access the ip
- I was missing the leading "http://" in the Domains field until I did a ton of searching and it was mentioned as a side comment in someone's post.


2) I still for the life of me cannot get SSL to work across all of the sites. It is only working for the ISPConfig site www.domain.com:81 ... the Drupal websites are giving me "SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length ... (Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)"

I have been reading and re-reading posts on this forum to figure it out but no success so far:
o ISPConfig: from http to https & from https to http
o Understanding SSL (help to understand)
o https on new v3 port 8080 (I am using ISPConfig v2 though from the "Perfect" how to)
o Just installed ispconfig3, problems with ssl certiftcates
o Fail to open ISPConfig site: firefox 8182
o Apache2-SSL-PHP5-Howto
o How To Enable Multiple HTTPS Sites For One IP On Debian Etch Using TLS Extensions

Hopefully someone else can provide guidance.

3) Also, I am trying to figure out how to get "simple urls" to work. If I can figure out multi-site SSL and the simple urls, I will be super happy.

Hope that helps

Last edited by tester321; 29th July 2009 at 21:20.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th July 2009, 19:08
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

According to this post from 2006 on here,

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
"You need an IP for each SSL encrypted domain. Read the apache documentation if you dont believe me.

If the client wants to have http://www.clientdomain.com and https://www.clientdomain.com you will have to assign him an IP address.

The only other solution is that you have one ssl enabled website where you symlink the clients web directorys. Example:

https://www.provider.com/client1/
https://www.provider.com/client2/
https://www.provider.com/client3/"
My question is simply this:

Can I serve up SSL/encrypted pages on multiple DOMAINS under ISPConfig on ONE IP?? And how?

I don't care if it is a self-certified certificate. I don't care if it contains the name of the ISPConfig domain, etc. I just want to be able to serve up Encrypted web pages from all sites under the one ISPConfig setup (what I hope would be similar to the 2nd point Till makes up above).

I realize that Users may get a browser error that the Cert doesn't match the domain -- and I am willing to deal with that as well ... think of it as a "family" of websites under one parent (ISPConfig) but responding to different domain names and sharing the certificate.

If anyone could confirm that, I would be very thankful.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th July 2009, 19:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tester321 View Post
Can I serve up SSL/encrypted pages on multiple DOMAINS under ISPConfig on ONE IP?? And how?
No, you need one IP per HTTPS site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th July 2009, 19:54
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
No, you need one IP per HTTPS site.
falko: Thanks for the reply.

Is it possible to use the domain/cert of the ISPConfig (which is successfully using HTTPS via http://ispconfigdomain.tld:81 right now) for things like secure User registrations of the child domains hosted there?

I just have an occasional need for secure communications (Registration).

Not possible, not worth the effort??

Thanks

PS: I do have 1 or 2 ips that I could expose to the public ... if this is the only way ... how to create the SSL Self-Cert for them on the other ip while still running under the existing multisite ISPConfig? Can the 2nd Cert on a 2nd IP co-exist with multisite non-SSL on a single (other) IP??

Last edited by tester321; 30th July 2009 at 20:05.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd August 2009, 03:34
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

In case anyone is interested, I found this article Hosting multiple SSL vhosts on a single IP/Port/Certificate after a ton of searching.

Hopefully, it might help some.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd August 2009, 12:36
AlArenal AlArenal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 104
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

how about my Drupal multisite question regarding ISPC3? As I know you're using Drupal yourself I thought you might know / might even had a Drupal mutlisite scenario in mind when you designed ISPC3..

Thanks,
Alex
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th August 2009, 09:07
carpotgieter carpotgieter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Solution fot ISPConfig Domain Forwarding / Redirection

Ok I have been looking for the same solution as most of you guys and have stumbled on what I believe might be the answer.

I know using Cpanel you where able to redirect a website that you have created to another website so in mike case lets say i have.

peters.com
peters1.com
peters2.com

and I want peters1.com and peters2.com to point to peters.com I would create new domains or accounts for them in Cpanel and forward them all to peters.com.

Well at first this was an absolute nightmare for me to do in ISPConfig because I could only redirect peters1.com and not www.perters1.com and vise versa for perters2.com. Until I read the tool tips and this is how I overcome the problem.

1. Create new domains for peters.com, peters1.com and peters2.com
2. In the ISP manager for both peters1.com & peters2.com change the hostname to "." (thats a fullstop without the colons).{Yeah I know it was strange for me too}
3. Next in IPSmanager for both peters1.com & peters2.com click on co-domains tab this is the forward function for ISPConfig if you havnt figured it out yet.
4. Ok now this is the tricky part, firstly click on the ip adress next to your domain name, there shouldnt be anything in the hostname field, now click on the forward field and enter the whole domain name you would like your host to be forwarded to {eg http://www.perters.com/}. and click on save.
5. Ok now for the "www". once again from the co-Domains click on the new button and in the hostname field enter "www", and in the in the domain field enter you domain name. good now repeat step 4 and enter the forwarding address.
6. Next just repeat the above steps for peters2.com and you should have a very nice website with 2 other websites forwarded to it.

Whoala you should have a forward to a website. Please let me know if you have any trouble understanding my instructions, I usually dont post instructions on sites like these but I just thought It might help someone else.

Have fun and good luck with ISPconfig.

Last edited by carpotgieter; 12th August 2009 at 09:11.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to carpotgieter For This Useful Post:
falko (13th August 2009), tester321 (18th August 2009)
  #10  
Old 1st November 2009, 23:34
tester321 tester321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 34
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tester321 View Post
3) Also, I am trying to figure out how to get "simple urls" to work. If I can figure out multi-site SSL and the simple urls, I will be super happy.

Hope that helps
For anyone interested, I was able to figure out the answer to my question after some searching and experimenting. I am posting in this thread in case it helps anyone else. (I am sure it may be well documented, it still took me a while to figure it out).

Clean URLs on the Drupal Multisite / ISPConfig2 / Etch:


1) Create an .htaccess file (owner root:root) in /var/www/ directory of each virtual site!!
example: /var/www/www.domain.tld/web
/var/www/www.domain2.tld/web
/var/www/www.domain3.tld/web
etc

contents of .htaccess:
Code:
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>  
RewriteEngine on  
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f  
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d  
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php?q=$1 [L,QSA]  
</IfModule>
done!

Last edited by tester321; 1st November 2009 at 23:38.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tester321 For This Useful Post:
falko (2nd November 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't enable SSL for sites in ISPConfig FeraTechInc General 7 7th December 2009 08:22
Re-generating SSL certificates for ISPConfig Norman General 6 13th May 2008 19:27
ISPConfig + Drupal Multisite Felipe Installation/Configuration 1 3rd September 2007 23:20
Drupal and ISPConfig tomd General 6 16th August 2007 18:14
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.