Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th July 2009, 11:05
captnnuss captnnuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ispconfig3 web / mysql on different servers does not work

Hi there,

I have an installation of ispconfig 3.0.1.3 on two Ubuntu Jaunty servers, one of them for web, mail, ftp and everything and the second one only for mysql. On the web server I installed ispconfig 3.0.1.3 and defined both servers in the configuration. Both servers are displayed correctly. If I open a ssh shell to the web server, I can connect to the mysql server from there by using the root account with a password.

But if I define a new database within ispconfig, it doesn't show up on the mysql server. It just happens nothing. By using tcpdump, I found out that the web servers doesn't even try to connect to the mysql-server. The newly defined database is shown in ispconfig, but that's it. (It also does not show up on the local web server mysql database, jut for clarification)

How to track down the problem, any hint would be fine. I'm not sure if I made a mistake and if so, how to find out which mistake.

Marco
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th July 2009, 11:12
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Are the newly created databases created on the server itself instead of the other server?

or are they nowhere to be found?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th July 2009, 11:13
captnnuss captnnuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

they are nowhere. I checked the web and the db-server. They only show up on the admin interface.

Marco
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th July 2009, 12:05
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,066
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,395 Times in 4,239 Posts
Default

How did you add the second server to the ispconfig installation?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th July 2009, 12:13
captnnuss captnnuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I added the second (mysql) server by browsing to the first server (web) and from there:

System -> Edit Server -> Add a new Server

As the server name, I entered the FQDN and checked "DB-Server". After this, I edited the Web Server and unchecked "DB-Server" so that I just have one mysql server for customers.

Thanks,
Marco
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th July 2009, 12:19
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,066
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,395 Times in 4,239 Posts
Default

Servers can not be added in ispconfig like this, the server ahs to be added by the ispconfig installer during the installation of the second server. You will have to uninstall ispconfig from the second server and then reinstall it using expert mode and then enter the mysql login details of the master server when you get asked if you want to join a master server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th July 2009, 12:23
captnnuss captnnuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That explains everything. I don't even have ispconfig on the mysql-server as I just didn't know that I needed it.

There is not much documentation for ispconfig3 at the moment. At least, I couldn't find it.

Thanks,
Marco
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st July 2009, 15:53
captnnuss captnnuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tried it that way now, but still doesn't work.

I installed ispconfig3 on the mysql server in expert mode, joined the main ispconfig server database and set up everything.

but when I create a new database on the main instance (webserver), it is shown in the ispconfig web page, but on the mysqlserver nothing happens. I thought that there should be created a database then, but even this doesn't happen.

any hints?
thanks,
marco
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st August 2009, 10:48
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,066
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,395 Times in 4,239 Posts
 
Default

Then you have most likely a permission problem. This happens e.g. when the hostnames of all servers are not registered in dns and so the master server is not able to resolve the hostname of the slave.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mysql 2 servers, 2 mysql on each server, one database Stephan Server Operation 11 17th June 2009 22:13
Rejected e-mail (unknown user) w/Postfix doronkeller HOWTO-Related Questions 9 27th January 2008 20:09
Messed up ISPConfig-2.2.8 Upgrade Morons Installation/Configuration 4 29th November 2006 12:17
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL (mail not relaying) RinoM1 Server Operation 1 12th November 2006 15:31
how to make php to work with mysql (php installed with apt-get, (no mysql support) grafik Installation/Configuration 3 15th May 2006 23:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.