#1  
Old 26th July 2009, 16:40
Gleno0h Gleno0h is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Multiserver issue

Hey!

2 servers are connected to eachother, i can make domains but they are not reachable on server2.

If i change the port 80 in my router to the ip for server 2 they work, but then server1 doesnt work ofcourse.

Whats wrong with my settings?
/network/interfaces are on same gateway broadcast etc except the ip is diffrent
they both only have a static ip ofcourse with "eth0".

Vhost files show correct ip's for every site.

Whats wrong?
May i also suggest it would be great if somebody could write a tutorial on setting up a multi server ...

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th July 2009, 09:48
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

You can only map port 80 to ONE ip address in your router, that's why only one of them works at the time.

Multiserver is handy when you're going for HA or loadbalancing setups.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th July 2009, 18:32
Gleno0h Gleno0h is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So shortly, 1 server for apache and ftp and 1 server for dns, mail etc is possible
2 apache's not? Man i have to get my info right
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th July 2009, 08:50
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Well there is a module for apache that can function as a sort of load balance mechanic, but i don't think that's what you're looking for.

I assume both servers run completely different domains, if so, then both need a WAN IP to talk properly to the Internet and serve their services to it. There might be a way that I'm not aware of.

Server A: 192.168.1.1
Server B: 192.168.1.2
Router: <WAN IP>

On your router you say:
"If a request comes on port 80, go to <IP>"

That can either be Server A or B .. not both

Server A: apache / ftp
Server B: mail / dns

will be no problem, since all services use different ports.

How many domains your running per server? I have 5 ISPConfig servers running, one of them easily runs about 60 domains. (it's a AMD Opteron 2.2GHz with 4GB mem running on a XEN installation (image based) and on a DRBD disc for HA).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th July 2009, 23:23
Gleno0h Gleno0h is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_NL View Post
Well there is a module for apache that can function as a sort of load balance mechanic, but i don't think that's what you're looking for.

I assume both servers run completely different domains, if so, then both need a WAN IP to talk properly to the Internet and serve their services to it. There might be a way that I'm not aware of.

Server A: 192.168.1.1
Server B: 192.168.1.2
Router: <WAN IP>

On your router you say:
"If a request comes on port 80, go to <IP>"

That can either be Server A or B .. not both

Server A: apache / ftp
Server B: mail / dns

will be no problem, since all services use different ports.

How many domains your running per server? I have 5 ISPConfig servers running, one of them easily runs about 60 domains. (it's a AMD Opteron 2.2GHz with 4GB mem running on a XEN installation (image based) and on a DRBD disc for HA).
Yeah i was thinking it would be:
User that is browsing -> domain -> router -> apache would figure out where the site that is called are located -> result.

Uhm i have about 4 domains, nothing special. It more a testing thing.

2 amd 1800+ both 768mb mem 1 has a 100 gb and the other 160gb.

Although, if it all works nicely .. My brother is in the ICT section with his own company, so there will be some good systems if it is worth it.

I mean designing websites and hosting them is better instead of sending them to another hoster.

Thanks for the info, im gonna get another small server and gonna let apache and ftp run on server1 and the mail on server3 and the rest on server2.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 10 network config issue tinker Installation/Configuration 3 15th April 2009 23:56
fedora 10 perfect server network issue Turbanator HOWTO-Related Questions 2 14th February 2009 01:37
charset issue. lifeisboost Installation/Configuration 8 20th February 2008 15:47
DNS MX Issue jmead Installation/Configuration 3 29th November 2007 10:06
iptables issue with xen perfect setup - debian alexnz HOWTO-Related Questions 3 25th November 2006 13:49


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.