#1  
Old 11th August 2009, 21:17
K_meleonu K_meleonu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 108
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default 2 Providers - problems

Hi,
I have installed Ubuntu 8.0.4 Server and tried to configure it with 2 network cards and 2 internet providers.
The problem is that it does NOT want to work whatever i have tried.

1'st provider config.:
IP: 86.106.xxx.4
NetM. 255.255.255.0
GW: 86.106.xxx.1
DNS: 86.106.xxx.1

2'nd provider:
IP: 89.34.xxx.91
NetM.: 255.255.255.0
GW: 89.34.xxx.1
DNS: 81.180.xxx.73

Can you please give me some advices/info's

Best regards and thank you in advance for your answers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th August 2009, 13:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Are you using a router?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th August 2009, 14:43
K_meleonu K_meleonu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 108
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

No i do not have a router.
I have direct lines. I have managed to put both of the IP's/providers on the same server using Webmin but the problem now is that, the second link (provider 2 (89.34.xxx.91)) is loosing the connection time to time.

Don't know if that is still a local problem or a provider problem.

Will try to find and post here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th August 2009, 11:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

And the other connection is working fine?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th August 2009, 12:21
K_meleonu K_meleonu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 108
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
And the other connection is working fine?
Yes,
The 1'st connection is working without problems.
I have tested the 2'nd connection (89.34.xxx.91) on a separate PC, single and it work't without problems.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th August 2009, 13:38
Franz Franz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cakovec
Posts: 117
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Franz
Default

You need to set a LoadBalancer, because you can have only one Default Gateway with default metric.

Why you have 2 providrs? If you need only some IP range on second provider, you can add static routes.

But best is to configure router for this.
__________________
my PAGE
VoIP
my IT help blog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th August 2009, 20:12
K_meleonu K_meleonu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 108
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Hi,
Thank's for your answer.
I had the same configuration on a Fedora Core 4 server and it work't whitout problems.
One provider on 1'st network card and another provider on 2'nd netwotk card.
Now i have a lot of troubles doing this thing on Ubuntu 8.0.4 server or Fedora 11
I even tried this configuration on Windows XP and it has NO problems.
Is it something on the new Linux distro's ?
I do NOT use any router's.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th August 2009, 01:39
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 237
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

What are you trying to do with the 2 connections?

You can only have one default route - that is going to give you problems now.

If the second line w/ second provider is flaky even when used standalone, then the problem is the provider.

w/ 2 connections you can either split by local lan (eg, student labs go out one and faculty goes out another), do load balancing (both groups go out randomly based on available bandwidth), or do fail over (if one goes down switch it all to the other connection).

Of course, if they are from the same provider and go to the same POP then the failover really won't do you any good unless the fault is in the last mile.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th August 2009, 11:27
K_meleonu K_meleonu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 108
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

HI,
I need the both connection alive at the same time.
One isp is used for some applications and the other isp is used for other applications on the SAME server.

As i said before, on Fedora Core 4, Ubuntu 6, Windows XP, this configuration work's perfect.
I will download Ubuntu 9 server and try with it too.

The applications i am using an referring to are sc_serv (online radio).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th August 2009, 18:32
K_meleonu K_meleonu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 108
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

Hi to all,
Solved the problem with ip route add

Now i have:
root@hercules:~# route -nNvee
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface MSS Window irtt
86.106.xx.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0 0 0 0
89.34.xx.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1 0 0 0
0.0.0.0 89.34.xx.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth1 0 0 0
0.0.0.0 86.106.xx.1 0.0.0.0 UG 100 0 0 eth0 0 0 0

And it is all working just fine.
I don't know why the linux system does not do the route adding by himself.
I was having gateway 89.34.xxx.1 defined in the /etc/network/interfaces for eth1 before i added by hand the route with ip route add but no good.

So, bottom point, if is someone else who tries to do the same thing / configuration like me, just add routes/gateways by the hand.

Thank you all for your posts
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install problems Ubunto 9.04 XYZ Installation/Configuration 2 15th June 2009 14:08
Problems with groups/grpconv linuxfast General 28 21st April 2008 09:35
Management/system config/settings & /server/settings not working!! dactor Installation/Configuration 9 6th February 2008 09:11
Empty Recycle Bin jon335 General 40 6th May 2006 11:56
Help! Real newbie having problems installing Linux t-kiss Kernel Questions 5 4th April 2006 15:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.