Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 17th April 2006, 18:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
The only thing I have done is adjust the modprobe file to take out ipv6 so that I can get on the web.... thats all I have changed.

Thanks
I guess this might cause the problem. Please change it back.

Quote:
hosts.deny - file contents
/etc/hosts.deny # See 'man tcpd' and 'man 5 hosts_access' as well as /etc/hosts.allow # for a detailed description. http-rman : ALL EXCEPT LOCAL
Plese comment out the last line.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 18th April 2006, 09:52
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

ok I have commented out the last line and also changed the modprobe back to its defaults, but still getting a mail loop. I have had to change modprobe again so that I can get internet access, on every install I have done I have had to change this file, so I dont think its the problem, all I am doing is turning off ipv6.

So any other suggestions......

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18th April 2006, 10:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Code:
dig mx chesterfieldathletics.org.uk

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> mx chesterfieldathletics.org.uk
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 57967
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;chesterfieldathletics.org.uk.  IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
chesterfieldathletics.org.uk. 14400 IN  MX      5 mail.chesterfieldathletics.org.uk.
chesterfieldathletics.org.uk. 14400 IN  MX      10 autoturn.plus.net.uk.
chesterfieldathletics.org.uk. 14400 IN  MX      20 mx.last.plus.net.

;; Query time: 159 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Tue Apr 18 10:38:09 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 133
Does mail.chesterfieldathletics.org.uk "know" that it is responsible for emails for user1@chesterfieldathletics.org.uk?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18th April 2006, 11:06
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

That is very interesting.... that domain was hosted by force9)plusnet) but I moved it to 123-reg.co.uk and defined the mx records myself to point to my new server (not on at the moment) so why does the dig output still show mx records for plusnet..... I am not sure what is going on or where to start to try and fix it.... what tool do you use to get the dig information.

what do I need to start checking.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18th April 2006, 11:14
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Thanks for pointing that out Falko it would appear that when I moved the domain names from one isp to another the nameservers were not changed so the mail was trying to go to plusnet and not to my server. I hope

Thanks I will post again if this does not fix it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18th April 2006, 11:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
what tool do you use to get the dig information.
Well, the tool is called - dig...
Code:
dig mx chesterfieldathletics.org.uk
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19th April 2006, 00:15
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok I am still having a problem with mail, I can send mail fine no problems, but getting mail in is still not working, and I think its something I have done with the dns settings.

With the company I have registered my domains with I get free DNS management, so if anything what should I do with this, at the moment I have two a records one for www and one for mail, I then set the mx records to go to mail.domain.com. - this is all with the company I have registered with.

1) So I am thinking that this is wrong and all I should do is change the nameserver settings for each of my domain names to point to my ispconfig server.

2) so as per falkos single post I should leave one of my domain names dns settings with third party and set up nameserver a record entries and then the only settings I will need to change for all other domains is to set the nameserver to ns1.domain.com which has been set to my ispconfig server address.

3) So I will leave the mail settings on the third party totally alone and not set them to anything.

4) the MX records created on my ispconfig server are server1.domain.com and www is under the hostname.... is this right. after looking on the demo site there is no www under the hostname. So should I create a a record entry for mail or something.... this is where I am starting to get lost... any help would be good... THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19th April 2006, 09:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,388 Times in 4,233 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
Ok I am still having a problem with mail, I can send mail fine no problems, but getting mail in is still not working, and I think its something I have done with the dns settings.

With the company I have registered my domains with I get free DNS management, so if anything what should I do with this, at the moment I have two a records one for www and one for mail, I then set the mx records to go to mail.domain.com. - this is all with the company I have registered with.

1) So I am thinking that this is wrong and all I should do is change the nameserver settings for each of my domain names to point to my ispconfig server.
There is nothing wrong with the setup you described above.

Quote:
2) so as per falkos single post I should leave one of my domain names dns settings with third party and set up nameserver a record entries and then the only settings I will need to change for all other domains is to set the nameserver to ns1.domain.com which has been set to my ispconfig server address.

3) So I will leave the mail settings on the third party totally alone and not set them to anything.

4) the MX records created on my ispconfig server are server1.domain.com and www is under the hostname.... is this right. after looking on the demo site there is no www under the hostname. So should I create a a record entry for mail or something.... this is where I am starting to get lost... any help would be good... THANKS
If you get external DNS for free, why do you want to use the ISPConfig DNS-Manager? If you can get DNS for free for you domain and you do not want to host a high number of domains and have some DNS knowledge, its always better to use the DNS from your registry.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19th April 2006, 10:58
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

So what your saying is I could use the DNS on my registra (third party) and just disable or delete the dns entries that ISPConfig has created and make sure that it doesnt create any for any new domain I put on.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19th April 2006, 14:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Yes, that's right.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tlsmgr webmail problem, suse 9.3 perfect setup dschmid Installation/Configuration 44 2nd April 2006 18:55
Uebimiau webmail problem rosa hsiao General 4 9th January 2006 10:09
Problem with Webmail URL, uses local network and not internet danf.1979 General 8 24th December 2005 16:24
webmail klient quota problem? jernis Installation/Configuration 9 30th November 2005 22:14
Problem with webmail MyLinux General 10 17th September 2005 14:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.