Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th July 2009, 13:20
merida merida is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default domain not working without www

i have an strange problem, with a domain of mine, which i call mydomain.com

- in my browser, i can acess my domain if I use the prefix www.
thus : http://www.mydomain.com works fine

- in my browser, i can NOT access the domain without the www.
thus : http://domain.com does not work

same happens with nslookup: nslookup finds the correct IP for the www.mydomain.com but fails to find something for mydomain.com

any ideas what might cause this problem ???
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th July 2009, 13:23
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Not sure about ISPConfig 3 .. but when you add a site, i'll only create a co-domain for domain.com, you've to add one called *.domain.com yourself after adding the site ..

also your dns record should have domain.com and www.domain.com (or maybe a *.domain.com) pointing to your ip.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th July 2009, 13:42
merida merida is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

in ispconfig3, I have setup the zone (SOA) as mydomain.com
so I am rather convinced that things are fine on DNS level

any more ideas to help me out. i am pulling my hair out !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th July 2009, 13:51
merida merida is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am having the same thing with nslookup


nslookup www.mydomain.com --> no problem
nslookup domain.com --> nslookup does not give back any result
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th July 2009, 14:06
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

setting domain.com as SOA doesn't mean that it's already bound to your IP.

so create an A record:

mydomain.com A 1.2.3.4

save, enjoy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th July 2009, 14:32
merida merida is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dear Marc, thanks for helping me. however, i already had the following dns records:

A xxx.163.67.237 0
A mydomain.com xxx.163.67.237 0
A mail xxx.163.67.237 0
A ns1 xxx.163.67.237 0
A www xxx.163.67.237 0
MX mail.mydomain.com 10
MX mydomain.com mail.mydomain.com 10
NS mydomain.com ns1.mydomain.com 0


you remark that this list has two "empty host" dns records:


A xxx.163.67.237 0
MX mail.mydomain.com 10


This did not make any difference to the final result. I removed and added these two records, but nothing changed.

so the problem is still here.

on top of that, i also have another problem, which is probably related to my first one:

my mailserver works: i can send/receive emails from my mailserver
which is called mail.mydomain.com. thus emails for <name>@mail.mydomain.com arrive without any problem.

however, with the MX records mentioned above, I can not recieve any email at <name>@mydomain.com


To summarize:

- no emails can be recieved at mydomain.com
- nslookup fails at mydomain.com
- website is not reachable at mydomain.com

but:

- website is reachable at www.domain.com
- emails can be recieved at mail.mydomain.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th July 2009, 14:38
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

as long as "mydomain.com" resolves to nothing, all your problems will keep existing.

i do not see the point in these records:
A xxx.163.67.237 0
MX mail.mydomain.com 10



if you want to, you can PM me your real domain, so i can have a look at it.

If you run your own dns server you probably also need a glue record ( http://faq.domainmonster.com/dns/glue_record/ )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th July 2009, 15:24
merida merida is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dear Marc,

please correct me if i am wrong, but i have this record:

A mydomain.com xxx. 163.67.237 0

which means that mydomain is resolved.

-------------

Anyway, i made some progress: In my dns records, i added a dot (.) after mydomain.com. Now nslookup seems to work

------------------

However, the email problem persist. I can receive email from gmail, but not from hotmail. however, i have only one working nameserver. could this be a problem?

------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th July 2009, 15:32
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

ah you've missed the "." in the end :P

well, the changes could take a while for all the caches are rerfeshed

host -t mx mydomain.com

should return your mail server's address now .. if you have problems receiving mail there, look at the error logs /var/log/mail.*
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th July 2009, 15:49
merida merida is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

yes, i missed the dot (.) at the end.
Why is it imporant?

i would suppose that

mydomain.com

means the same thing as

mydomain.com.

Why do i need the dot at the end ??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Wordpress based web page after installing Ispconfig Mole Installation/Configuration 50 9th May 2008 11:07
Help - virtual sites - email not working - what FQDN? sagor Installation/Configuration 4 26th April 2008 20:00
Undelivered Mail - What could I have missed in configuration? AZMel Installation/Configuration 8 12th January 2007 12:00
Same host 'www' at (n) domain at the same ip doesn't work OdinsChrist Installation/Configuration 2 16th November 2006 20:44
webmail and pop3 quicklinux General 8 9th August 2005 01:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.