Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th September 2008, 11:44
jawis jawis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Samba Fileserver With SWAT On Fedora 8 (add New disks)

Hi,

I've installed a samba fileserver with swat a tima ago. Now i've installed a new harddisk to it, becouse the diskspace became to small.

I can see the disk with fdisk -l. But how do I mount this disk to the rest. fdisk show the following info:

Schijf /dev/sde: 400.0 GB, 400088457216 bytes
255 koppen, 63 sectoren/spoor, 48641 cilinders
Eenheid = cilinders van 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Schijf-ID: 0x00000000

Schijf /dev/sde bevat geen geldige partitietabel


I've looked at the article "LVM for beginners" but I don't knwo which parameters I should take. Becouse all the stuff which is already on the other disks, i'm scared to lose this if i make a mistake.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th September 2008, 17:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Are you using LVM for your other partitions?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th September 2008, 18:31
jawis jawis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't know.

When I installed Samba with SWAT I did a minimal install of fedora. Then the volume is created. But I don't know how to add the new device to this volume.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th September 2008, 17:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
df -h
? What's in /etc/fstab?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st October 2008, 19:12
jawis jawis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

[root@server3 ~]# df -h
Bestandssysteem Grtte Gebr Besch Geb% Aangekoppeld op
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00
1,2T 1,1T 17G 99% /
/dev/sda1 194M 19M 166M 11% /boot
tmpfs 374M 0 374M 0% /dev/shm

And in fstab:

[root@server3 ~]# vi /etc/fstab
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd October 2008, 15:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Ok, you're using LVM, so you can add the new hard drive to it. Take a look at http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_lvm
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th July 2009, 10:35
jawis jawis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Almost a year later (and a lot of troubles behind me) I picked up this problem again. I already added the disk (thanks Falko!) and with vgdisplay I can see that the disk is added to the volume.

But SWAT doesn't see the extra space (when I connect with a windows client with explorer). It still shows the old volumesize, and it's not possible to copy more data to it.
Do I need to do something else in SWAT? Changing parameters or something?

grtz,
jawis

Last edited by jawis; 4th July 2009 at 10:46.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th July 2009, 11:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Have you tried to reboot the system?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th July 2009, 20:57
jawis jawis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes I did. Didn't work. Even turned off for about 10 minutes, but it didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th July 2009, 21:04
jawis jawis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I Think I know where the problem is, but I don't know how do I solve this.

There's a different between the size of lvdisplay(1.18TB) and vgdisplay(1.54TB). Do I need to unmount and remount the whole volumegroup again? And if yes, will I lose my data?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
freebsd 7, samba 3, domain controller alexdimarco Suggest HOWTO 6 5th November 2010 16:54
Samba Ldap Problem ZenMatrix Server Operation 1 10th August 2008 07:02
OpenLDAP + Samba Domain Controller On Ubuntu 7.10 E1sbaer HOWTO-Related Questions 3 7th May 2008 18:41
Problems with SWAT on Fedora 8 irben Server Operation 4 9th April 2008 22:41
Samba Fileserver With SWAT On Fedora 8 jawis HOWTO-Related Questions 2 20th March 2008 09:09


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.