#1  
Old 4th July 2009, 02:56
dbrine dbrine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default newbie website creation



I followed the perfect server 9.04 with ISPConfig 3 setup on here, great!! When I log into ISPConfig console I create a client and site (eaglerising.selfip.com is the domain).

1. Is the website address eaglerising.selfip.com for this client? or is eaglerising.selfip.com/username?
2. when I FTP in with the clients username/pass I upload the new files including the index.html. But when I goto the website (eaglerising.selfip.com) I get the ISPConfig default website. Why?
3. I tried to create a subdomain (dave) and it wouldn't work (403 error) when I entered dave.eaglerising.selfip.com.

I will end up with several users under the my domain name. Sorry for ton of questions. Documentation is hard to come by with ver 3.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th July 2009, 12:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,777
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

1) eaglerising.selfip.com
2) Make sure that you upload your files into the web folder and that you delete the index.html file that is there by default.
3) Make sure that you first create a dns A-Record for dave.eaglerising.selfip.com in the dns server of the domain selfip.com that points to the IP address of your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th July 2009, 13:37
dbrine dbrine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

eaglerising.selfip.com is my domain (dyndns). When I ftp into the website via dbrine (client) and add the web content it doesn't show up when I refresh the page. Am I doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th July 2009, 13:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,777
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Please read my post above. You have to delete the default index file and you have to make sure that you upload the files to the correct folder!
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th July 2009, 22:13
dbrine dbrine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I use DYNDNS, would I do it there to add the A record?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automate account creation from website? keyvan General 1 14th May 2009 18:21
My Website Would not Run After a Power Problem donnwar HOWTO-Related Questions 3 24th June 2008 17:26
cannot receive emails after made website online llamy General 20 27th December 2007 01:14
set up 301 redirect from old website to new website showe1966 Server Operation 1 22nd September 2007 12:30
Website wont display after upload cortexx Installation/Configuration 7 17th August 2007 10:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.