Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th June 2009, 20:22
Happy_Gillmore Happy_Gillmore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Single static IP with multiple websites/domains

Hello,
I have a problem and need help on how to solve it.

First, I will be getting a single static IP and would like to host 3 different personal websites each with their own domain name.

I configured ISPCONFIG with the local 192.168.0.110 IP in the mean time.

#1 Since I will only have a single static IP, what IP should I give the websites when I create them in the ISPCONFIG panel?

#2 How can I reach the websites through the IP
ex: 192.168.0.110/website1/
192.168.0.110/website2/
etc...

#3 When I get my static IP, I have to change the DNS info on domains I have registered on Godaddy or Namesecure, which DNS servers do I specify?


Any help will be greatly apreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th June 2009, 12:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

You can have as many websites with one IP as you like.

1) Assign all sites the same IP.
2) You cant, as the sites are namebased and not IP based. Just enter the domain name of the site in the browser and not the IP.
3) Just change the IP, you dont have to specify any namservers when you use the nameservers from godaddy.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th June 2009, 22:44
Happy_Gillmore Happy_Gillmore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for the response.
Just one more thing:
If it only works on domain name and not on IP, will i still be able to reference a sub folder such as: http://www.domain.com/subfolder/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th June 2009, 12:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,501 Times in 4,330 Posts
Default

Quote:
If it only works on domain name and not on IP, will i still be able to reference a sub folder such as: http://www.domain.com/subfolder/
Sure. nambased vhosts are the most commonly used vhosts in hosting setups. they do everything that a normal vhost does, you can just not access them by IP as they all share the same IP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th June 2009, 21:16
Happy_Gillmore Happy_Gillmore is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thank you so much for answering my questions, cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 23:47
Static image server requirements/thoughts? Tipem Technical 3 23rd June 2008 21:50
horde/imp - multiple addresses single login falcon5 Installation/Configuration 9 7th June 2008 17:48
kernel compile error/ndiswrapper error Droogie Kernel Questions 1 28th April 2008 22:38
Multiple IPs on a single ISPConfig install? Craig Installation/Configuration 4 14th December 2006 19:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.